Lily's Favorite Mexican Candy: de la Rosa Peanut Mazapan Photo Shoot

in #food7 years ago

I saw this video on my facebook feed awhile ago that has stuck in my memory. It was a bunch of American kids taste testing Mexican snacks and candies to see how they respond, which was pretty funny. They had one Mexican American kid that knew all about everything they were putting in front of him, especially these things. He was super excited for these things and it's the one thing I totally get. Super tasty and originating in Spain, these are just disks of peanut mazapan that are super popular and sold just about everywhere here.

I talked John into getting this bog for 67 pesos today and while it wasn't quite the deal we thought it was (the disks are smaller than the ones you buy in stores for 5-8 pesos) it is good enough for me.

I first tried these about a year ago when my best local friend bought me one to have me try. He warned me to be careful while eating that and that was a good warning. This is a candy that is easily disturbed and by that I mean it's basically a powder held together with tension, broken by just about everything. All the kids in that video made these things explode by squeezing them too hard, wheras the Mexican kid held it delicately and ate it like a pro.

It takes carefully opening the wrapper, if you notice I cracked my disk in that process. It's not lost if that happens, just be careful with the pieces. This candy is worth the effort.

At this point I've looked up the video to laugh at their responses and now feel compelled to link it, here, it's about halfway through where the kids dive into this candy. The whole video is charming and cute.

So if you're in Mexico and looking for a candy to try that you'll probably like as an American or Canadian (or anyone else just not used to the spicy tart Mexican candies that are super common), try these. They're sold all over and honestly a delight, I look forward to them every time I get them even though they're just a cheap little treat.

Check out my other recent posts!
Living in the Clouds: Crazy Awesome Set 2
Brother Bane Photo Shoot
Living in the Clouds: Crazy Awesome Set 1

Sort:  

You need to find the one covered in chocolate!!!

I've seen it, but not tried it oddly enough.

Nice post and pictures. Followed!

Nice post

amazing photography.... and post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39