Fermentation Adventures: Apple Ginger Beer Fail

in #food7 years ago

Kombucha got me stuck on fermenting and now I've been trying all different fermenting projects with varying degrees of success. Truth be told it's not all about throwing ingredients in a jar and forgetting about them for awhile, as I've found. There's almost always a method to be followed and rules to be followed for the best chance at success.

So as many of you know(I'll share links below for those who do not) I've been experimenting with the simple ferment known as the ginger bug. Starting with small amounts of ginger, sugar and water which is fed to it every day, you end up with a bubbly yeast slurry which is useful as a starter for ginger beer. When I went to actually make the beer, I found out most is made with a sugared lemon or lime water, which is tasty but wasn't what I was going for. I also didn't have either of those things.

We have a juicer now so we asked @modprobe to bring by some apples. I decided if I'm gonna buy ingredients for it I'll go all out and try apple ginger soda, which should have been awesome. I'm not sure if it was the fact that they were red delicious or something else, but the juice was hard to drink and the ferment was GROSS. It looked pretty though.

Here's a shot of the ginger bug just before I harvested it. You know it's really active when the ginger floats and there's huge air bubbles around. It tasted nice and slightly yeasty by itself. I've flavored kombucha with it at this point and it does add a ginger-beery quality to it for sure.

What I used
1 kg apples for about 3.5 cups juice
1/4 cup ginger bug
Glass Jar
Coffee Filter
Hairtye

How I did it

  1. Juice the apples and strain out the pulp into a quart sized glass jar, clean and sterile.
  2. Add 4 tablespoons of ginger bug with pulp, into the jar.

  1. Cover with coffee filter and secure with rubber band, keep next to your ginger bug and allow to ferment 1-3 days.

This pulp went straight to some happy chickens.

  1. Strain out the ginger and bottle into a flip top bottle, allow to ferment in the dark to build pressure for another 1-3 days, burping occasionally every 12 hours. This is an extremely active ferment, explosions are common.

Thoughts on the recipe:

I loosely followed a recipe I found online and honestly, I don't think the recipe was to blame for how this turned out. I should have known when I tasted the juice after starting the ferment that it wasn't going to be good. It ended tasting like ginger flavored rotted apples. I know it's fermented but that's a bit much, so next time I'll try maybe a granny smith or gala and see how that turns out. For now, this was a fail, but it was a fail on my part.

I'll try this again hopefully with better results, so stay tuned! I'll also try it with lemons or limes, whichever look nicer when I go to the store.

The fizz was good, I think there's a lot of potential for this one! In the meantime, I'll drink my strawberry ginger bug booch.

Check out some of my other recent posts!


Sort:  

@lily-da-vine - It sounds like quite a procedure indeed! I had to laugh at "ginger flavored rotten apples"...lol - that is quite a description right there! hehe I would love to see how round two turns out. Lemons and limes sound a LOT more promising... flavour wise hehe :)

But hey, like they say... live and learn right :) You don't know, if you don't try!!!

:)

Do you recommend to try it? ;-)

With any apple other than red delicious, which is the opposite of delicious lol

"Learning by doing" and "practice makes perfect" does really apply here :-)
If you don't do anything you won't learn anything. Great job

That's something that was abundantly clear to me this year. My whole life was lived in fear of failure, so I didn't do anything for most of it. Now that I've been working on making mistakes for 5 years lol, I'm starting to see thats how we learn

tips? Here is some stuff I have used and more that I want to try ..

  • ferments like the dark
  • be grateful to the water and send your own energy into it. structured water is more bioavailable (water and nutrients in the water)
  • use a small amount of starter bacteria from a good batch.. If you need a break give it some sugar and keep in the refrigerator to slow it down
  • add ormus or ormus rich material.. the water source matters
  • non-gmo sugar (etc) is important.. glycophosphate acts like a carcinogenic anti-biotic
  • if you get a brew that loves unprocessed cane juice you'll probably have healthier cravings even if the brew is a bit more picky
  • ferment in a egg shaped pottery using a traditional design to focus scaler waves from the earth. that adds structure to the water .. all life loves scaler waves (chi).
  • keep using glass (or pottery) but not explode it
  • if you have any questions just ask @modprobe, he has super-natural powers.. I have seen it.

I love that saying "be grateful to the water"

I looooove ginger!

Me too, the bug was tasty on it's own. :)

Sounds like an intriguing process. I will remember that if it tastes like ginger flavored rotton apples it is a bit much. LOL Well written my friend.

How expensive is honey there? If it is cheap or you can trade for it, seriously consider mead. It is super easy to brew, and it's basically honey, water, and yeast. You'll get 15-18% alcohol content for something that tastes delicious too!

Its one of those things that's on my list, just hasn't been done. :)

I haven't posted in a few days. I'll share the recipe I use in a quick post. :)

Edit: https://steemit.com/recipes/@finnian/ancient-orange-mead-recipe

Sounds fun, thanks!

Amazing photos @lily-da-vine . . I like your post. 👏👏👏

AJ picked your post @lily-da-vine for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12