Beer Battered Pan Fried Tilapia with Homemade Mashed Potatoes with Quick Gravy

in #food8 years ago

I've always said the only way you can get me to consume beer is in batter on food, and I'm still right. I've lived in Mexico for almost a year, if I was going to get a new found love for cerveza, I would have by now I think.  Fine by me, and I will say the Mexican beer Indio makes a great beer batter, one I'll use for everything from onion rings to fish, like I did tonight.  We had beer battered pan fried tilapia, with homemade mashed potatoes with topping of gravy. 

Here's the ingredients, the only thing this photo is missing is chicken bullion powder and corn starch for the gravy.  

Chop the potatoes and put them in a pot.  We used most of a kilo for our batch, and I've got a lot left over I intend to use for pierogies soon. Fill with water until the potatoes are covered and add a bit of chicken bullion to the pan.  Put them on the back of the stove, on high. 

Start heating the pan, I did this in my cast iron skillet on high, with about a centimeter of oil in the pan. The beer batter is simple.  I used a cup of flour, some garlic powder, salt and pepper.  I added beer until it was a fairly wet batter, almost like a thick pancake batter.

Add one egg, when the flour has been incorporated, mix thoroughly. 

Dredge the filet in flour first, to help the batter stick to the fish.

Dip the floured fish into the batter, coating it completely.

Return the fish back to the flour to coat. 

Fry the fish, turning when the edges start to turn golden. 

I made a quick gravy, damn near instant realistically.  I just put water in a cup and added chicken bullion powder.  I boiled that for a few minutes.

In another cup, I added some corn start.  Add water and combine until it looks like milk and is thoroughly mixed.  Add until the gravy thickens, which should be fairly instantaneous. 

It should look like this when it's done!

Fry on both sides until the filets are golden brown, and remove them from the pan, turning off the heat. 

Drain the potatoes once they're finished cooking.  You know they're done when you insert a fork into them and they crumble.  Add them to a bowl with butter, milk, pepper and garlic.  I have a hand mixer I used to mash them, but you can use forks if you have to, I know I've done it many times that way.

All in all, it was pretty good.  I'd like to try the batter on onion rings next, a old comfort food of mine.  John and I both still aren't back to normal from being sick, so it was a bit of a heavy meal all things considered.  If I could have done it differently, I probably would have just made onion rings with it as well, instead of the potatoes.  Next time, though, next time.  Thanks for reading. 

Sort:  

That's not beer battered, that's cerveza! :-p

Indeed, the title is incorrect haha

Nice post. Those Tilapia fillets look amazing .....

Thank you. The tilapia's pretty good quality here. At Walmart, the fish section is self served, with plastic gloves and trays, so you can choose which pieces you want. There's a person there to weigh it and wrap it for you. It's only 95 pesos a kilo, under 5 dollars

Wow, that is reasonable. Here in South Africa we call tilapia 'Kurper' and it is not available in fish shops. Generally with the exception of Trout and Bass fresh water fish are not well received on the dinner plate {grin}

very good. I'll try it

STEEM ON!

Looks delicious! I will definitely try! Upvoted followed and resteemed!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38