Sunday Cook # 5 - Pork meat with chestnutssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

This Sunday I cooked

Pork meat with chestnuts

This weekend I hadn't much time, and I still had some chestnuts that I bought in the market in last week. I really need to cook something with these chestnuts, and at our place, we love meat and chestnuts!!
I remembered my mom used to cook this and I search for a recipe...but I hadn't. Then I went for an internet search, and found this Pork loin with chestnuts in the oven! Perfect!!

I've made some changes to this original recipe (I always give a personal touch!)

When I was looking for the recipe I found that chestnuts were used by Portuguese people as the main farinaceous ingredient, before the potato and corn introduction.

Ingredients

  • 1,3 Kg pork loin
  • 1 Kg potatoes
  • 400 g chestnuts
  • 2 medium onions
  • 7 garlic cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • olive oil (to taste)
  • white wine (to taste)
  • black pepper (to taste)
  • chili paste (not spicy, just red pepper with salt) (to taste)
  • salt (to taste)

Preparation

1 - Previously season the pork loin with salt, black pepper, chili pepper, bay leaf, rosemary, unpeeled crushed garlic​ and white wine. I let this marinate for approximately 4 hours.

2 - Preheat the oven to 180ºC.
3- Unpeel the onion and potatoes, and wash it. In a baking dish, place the onions cut into round slices and on top the pork loin. Add the potatoes cut into cubes, season it with salt, and drizzle everything with the marinade and olive oil. Bake about one hour and a half. Each 30 minutes drizzle the meat and potatoes with the sauce.
4 - Boil the chestnuts in a saucepan with water seasoned with some salt, for about 35 to 40 minutes. When they are cooked, let cool (not much) and remove the peel.

5 - When the potatoes and the meat start to turn slightly golden, add the chestnuts, and cover the meat with honey. Place the baking dish back in the oven more 15 minutes.

6 - It's ready to serve!!

I served this one with a lettuce salad, one of my favorites​!! Guess it goes fine with any green vegetables!

Hope you enjoyed this one!! I can assure you this was pretty yummy!!

I will come back with another Sunday cook delicious :D Stay tuned!!


What is Sunday Cook?!

On Sundays, I like to prepare more elaborate and delicious food. Usually, I cook some traditional Portuguese food, or at least with Portuguese inspiration :) I try to do it in a healthier way, using the minimum fat as possible, and normally I pick some recipe and transform it. I like to make it practical and leave the minimum dishes to wash...as I don't have a dishwasher machine!

During the week I don't like to spend much time cooking (no time at all), that's why I get totally motivated to cook on Sundays!!

Sort:  

I haven't cooked a "Sunday" dinner in ages.....I miss that tradition, actually. Your meal looks really tasty.

Thanks!! You also have that "Sunday" cook tradition? I prefer to cook for lunch and get a relaxed Sunday afternoon, but sometimes (like this weekend) it's not possible. I cooked this for dinner. Glad you likes it!

Boa @liliana.duarte. Não sou fã de carne de porco, mas a receita é nota 1.000. Parabéns! :)

Obrigada pelo comentário!! Eu adoro carne de porco, no Alentejo temos muito boa carne, mas tento comer poucas vezes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45