Sunday Cook #21 Codfish pie [Mother's recipe choice]

in #food7 years ago

Hello, Steemian fellows!

How are you after the HF18? Hope you're ok, I believe it's a matter of time. Anyway, we must be patient and adapt to the new features.

Lately, I'm having so many ideas for different posts (already have a list of pending ideas) and maybe one personal project I would like to share. Just need time to be sure its worth to bring to Steemit and manage time to begin.
My first project on Steemit was the Sunday Cook, wich I'll try to run for one year/ 52 weeks (yeah, I already skipped two Sundays and I'm sure as summer warm days are coming I'll pass more time outside than inside cooking).

This Sunday recipe is due to my mother that collected recipes that she would like to prepare. I have a book with those recipes and luckily I found the ingredients I needed in the local market! Potatoes (easy) and portuguese kale greens (or sprouts, I'm not sure how to translate this, but you'll have a picture below).

This Sunday I cooked

Codfish pie

DSC_6524.JPG

Ingredients

  • 700 grams desalted cod
  • portuguese kale greens
  • 1.4 kg potatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 boiled eggs
  • olive oil
  • nutmeg (to taste)
  • salt (to taste)
  • baking soda (1/4 coffee spoon)

Preparation

1 - Cook the cod in a pan with water. Peel, wash, cut the potatoes and cook them about 20 minutes in a pan with water seasoned with salt. When they get cooked, drain and smash it. Set the puree aside.
FotorCreated.jpg
2 - When the cod is cooked, remove the skins and spines and shred it into slivers. Set aside.
pjimage (2).jpg

3 - Prepare the portuguese kale greens by separating the young leafs and tender stalks from the other stalks. Wash in abundant​ water and cook them about 10 minutes in another pan with boiling water and seasoned with salt. I use a bit of baking soda to keep the greens bright in color​!
pjimage.jpg

4 - Cut the boiled eggs and garlic cloves.
pjimage (3).jpg
5 - Place a layer of the portuguese kale greens in the bottom of a baking pan, on top the cod, garlic and eggs, and, finally, a mashed potato layer. Repeat the process one more time.
pjimage (4).jpg
6 - Season with olive oil and use a fork to let it enter in the different layers. Place in the preheated oven at 180ºC / (350ºF) about 25 to 30 minutes.
FotorCreated1.jpg

During the preparation I though I would never cook this again, it takes much time prepararing. But I changed my mind when the aromas were being released...So good!!

It's ready!! Let's serve it!!

DSC_6529.JPG

DSC_6531.JPG

DSC_6532.JPG

Hope you enjoyed it!!

I will come back with another Sunday cook delicious :D Stay tuned!!


What is Sunday Cook?!

These Sunday Cook project began with a strong will to contribute to Steemit with my personal view of Portuguese cuisine. I really believe we have plenty of good food. I'm not a professional or nothing similar, but I can assure that I'll do my best! On Sundays, I like to prepare more elaborate and delicious food. It requires time and patient. Usually, I cook some traditional Portuguese food, or at least with Portuguese inspiration :) I try to do it in a healthier way, using the minimum fat as possible, and normally I pick some recipe and transform it. During the week I don't like to spend much time cooking (no time at all), that's why I get totally motivated to cook on Sundays!!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Com um vinho fica uma delícia :)

Certamente!! Este prato irá ser servido quando for eu a organizar os jantares de natal, ficou bom mas sei que ainda dá para dar um toque especial :) (em Portugal temos a tradição do bacalhau na noite de natal, na minha familia sempre foi assim, e assim quero manter!)

i love your sunday cooks :) makes it a lot easier for me to try traditional dishes here! obrigada querida <3

Ahah, that's great!! Glad to hear it from you! :) This dish uses very traditional ingredients, it could be easily used for​ a Christmas​ dinner. Hope you can come to lunch with us in a SundayCook day! :) <3

oh i´d love that! i cook very simple and eat very simple here, but i love the more extensive portuguese dishes. i recently fell in love with bacalhau a bras <3 hope i´ll make it down soon!

Hope we manage time for that:) Bacalhau à brás is a great one!! We can do it properly (frying the potatoes) or just buy a package of "batata palha" (usually it's what I do...it's like cheating, I never considered it for a SundayCook) ;)

Been a long hard few penniless days on Steemit, so I could with some cod to feed me up! Yum yum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45