Sunday Cook #17 Roasted vegetables in the oven (vegetarian)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemian fellows!!

If you are thinking I gave up meat or fish...you're totally wrong. I believe we should have a balanced diet including diverse sources of protein, vitamins, and fats.

I also enjoy a lot of vegetarian dishes, but actually, ​I don't know many (good) recipes. I always have to do a little search.

This Sunday I cook Roasted vegetables in the oven...

DSC_4861.JPG

...and I got inspired by the following recipe from the book "Cozinha Saudável" (Healthy kitchen) that was offered by some friends.

DSC_4803.JPG

The recipe is quite easy to do, but requires some work unpeeling, washing and cutting the vegetables. It would be better if you have someone that helps you with the preparation, besides it would be much more fun!

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion (sliced)
  • 2 leek (sliced)
  • 2 celery stalks (finely chopped)
  • 2 carrots (finely sliced)
  • 1 red pepper (cleaned and sliced)
  • 1 large zucchini (cut into large cubes)
  • 500 g of root vegetables (turnip, sweet potato or other, cut in cubes)
  • 250 g of mushrooms
  • 400 g of sliced tomato (1 can)
  • one teaspoon of oregano
  • one teaspoon of thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil (optional)

FotorCreated.jpg

Preparation

  1. Unpeel the onion, carrots, and turnip. Prepare the leeks, celery stalks, and red-pepper. Wash the vegetables.
  2. Slice the onion, the leeks, red pepper, can carrot. Cut the turnip into cubes, and finely chop the celery stalks.
  3. Unpeel the sweet potato and mushrooms, and prepare the zucchini. Wash these vegetables and cut them into a cube. Also, ​chop the tomato. (I didn't slice the mushrooms, they were very small).
    FotorCreated4.jpg
  4. Place the vegetables in a roaster tray and season with the herbs, salt, and pepper.
    DSC_4832.JPG
    DSC_4834.JPG
  5. Mix the vegetables, cover with aluminum foil and put in the oven (200-220ºC) for about 1h30 (or til you see the vegetables are cooked). I had to adjust the temperature and time during the cooking process.
    DSC_4838.JPG
  6. When ready, remove the aluminum foil.
    FotorCreated5.jpg

This is the final aspect, yum!!

DSC_4881.JPG

It's time to serve!!

I served these vegetables with white rice, but it's also possible to eat it with bread. You can also garnish with fresh herbs like basil or cilantro (I forgot, totally forgot!! Probably because I was hungry. Ahah)

DSC_4896.JPG

DSC_4888.JPG

DSC_4893.JPG

DSC_4885.JPG

I will come back with another Sunday cook delicious :D Stay tuned!!


What is Sunday Cook?!

These Sunday Cook project began with a strong will to contribute to Steemit with my personal view of Portuguese cuisine. I really believe we have plenty of good food. I'm not a professional or nothing similar, but I can assure that I'll do my best!

On Sundays, I like to prepare more elaborate and delicious food. It requires time and patient. Usually, I cook some traditional
Portuguese food, or at least with Portuguese inspiration :) I try to do it in a healthier way, using the minimum fat as possible, and normally I pick some recipe and transform it. During the week I don't like to spend much time cooking (no time at all), that's why I get totally motivated to cook on Sundays!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Roasted vegetables are so good! Your food looks so satisfying -- and I'm just looking at a picture -- I bet it tasted great! You just need some wild roots in there. ; )

Wild roots..ahah, maybe one day. I can't imagine myself going throgh those fields foraging wild roots or herbs. I'm living in a city at the moment, not easy. Once (a couple of years ago) I picked water-cress from a river banks and made a tasteful salad :)

I'm glad you got to enjoy water-cress! Maybe you would enjoy the wild roots if they are from invasive plants, lol. You would be doing a restoration project! ; )

It may be a good incentive for me, you're right!! AHah ;)

Oh yeah, that is what I am talking about!! Amazing food post and a wonderful Sunday Cook, well worth the wait!!

Such nice comment from you, got flattered! So glad you appreciated this!! :)

Bom demais almoçar aí no domingo, que delícia! :D

Ahah, obrigada @jsantana. Espero um dia poder receber-te e à tua noiva na minha casa...idealmente num domingo. Pode ser noutra altura, o que importa é que tenha comida de domingo! :)

:D Tendo 2 garrafas de vinho só pra mim, aceito sim :D

Eina pa, olha que o nosso vinho é forte, tem 13º-14º...acho que uma garrafa para uma pessoa já a deixa bem zonza, e é importante estar bem para aproveitar a comida!

@liliana.duarte yummy!
just as they are I love this!

you're not over roasting are you?

Ahah, no, i'm not over roasting!!

I really love to roast, for me it's a synonym of Sunday meals. It's so nice to enter at our home or someone else's and feel the smell of a good roast...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43