Steemit Culinary Challenge #15 Sunday roast: Pork loin with chorizo

in #food7 years ago

For those of you that have been following me for the past 3 months, you probably already know I often cook roasts on Sundays!!

This Sunday was no exception!

To be honest...when I saw the theme announcement I didn't have anything planned for this Sunday lunch, mostly because I was going to my mother's home...and there she is the 'boss' (you know).

Guess what? She is also engaged with Steemit and asked me what I would like to cook this Sunday.

Yesterday we went to the supermarket and I saw this nice piece of pork loin.

As this week the Steemit Culinary Challenge theme is "Roast It" ....I thought I could entry once again in the competition with one of my roasts!

Ingredients

  • 2 kg pork loin
  • 100 - 150 g chorizo
  • 1 kg small potatoes
  • 2 large lemons juice
  • 1 large onion
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • sweet red pepper sauce (to taste)
  • salt and black pepper (to taste)
  • olive oil (to taste)

Directions

  • Season the pork loin with salt, black pepper, sweet red pepper, chopped garlic and lemon juice. Let this marinate for approximately 12 hours.
  • Remove the loin from the marinade. With a sharp knife cut it in the center and place the chorizo inside. (This pork loin was big, I had to open one hole in each tip) In a roaster tray place ​the onions cut into cubes, the bay leaf, and the pork loin.
  • Preheat the oven to 180ºC-200ºC.
  • Unpeel and wash the potatoes, place them in the marinade tray to get a bit of color and taste. Season with salt.
  • Place the potatoes in the roaster tray, and drizzle with the marinade and olive oil. Put in the oven about 1h30m. Each 30 minutes drizzle the meat and potatoes with the sauce.

It's ready to serve!!

This is how it looks after one or two slices were cuted


We serve this dish with white rice and a green salad (letuce and watercress). To drink we choose a freshly squeezed orange juice as we also have plenty of oranges at home (not only lemons).

Hope you enjoyed this dish as much as I did!!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

It looks delicious and beautiful dish! I like the way you placed the potatoes around the pork.... Good luck for the Challenge!

It looks appetizing and you just want to eat it!

I'm glad you like it!! Saying that you wanted to eat it is the best compliment I could receive! :)

Yeah! I want to eat it very much! It makes me feel hungry again now! :)

Thanks for your kind words!! So nice to have your support! :)

You are highly welcome! ;0

@liliana.duarte Although I don't eat red meat but knowing what a chorizo tastes like - I have to admit my palate is aroused with just the thought of it.

Knowing it's not that easy to make a perfect incision to insert the chorizo - I take my hat off for you for having done it perfectly!

Good luck!

EDIT: I know one Steemian who'd love this if I may say - @richman the generous :)

Yeahh, I did another meat roast! Actually, I already need to cook one with vegetables, but didn't find the right opportunity.
The most difficult step in this recipe is t​o insert the chorizo..if it was frozen probably it would be easier!

@liliana.duarte - you could also just put it in the freezer for a while say 15 minutes to make the meat easier to cut - that would also help :)

The meat wasn't the most difficult, but your idea of putting it in the freezer is great to get one 'clean' cut. Thanks!!

@liliana.duarte but you had it perfectly done already so it doesn't really matter :)

This looks amazing! Good luck in the challenge

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I am not a big pork eater but that looks yummy!

Thanks for your kind comment, I can assure it's pretty yummy!

Wow, what a great combination! A really interesting technique, thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! It's very tasty, that's what I can assure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44