Steemit Culinary Challenge #13 : Cod 'à lagareiro'

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I love codfish and I wanted to cook it on Sunday, but last Friday I saw the theme for the SCC #13 - The Finest Fish Dish, and thought, why not?

I decided to enter in the SCC with one dish of codfish: "Cod 'à lagareiro' (cod with olive oil and baked potatoes).

It's very popular in Portugal, you can find it easily at restaurants as 'Bacalhau à lagareiro'. Probably that's the reason I never cooked it before at my place, but today I found it's very easy to prepare, I will certainly repeat this dish more often!
(I adapted this recipe)

Ingredients

  • codfish(1 Kg)
  • small/ medium potatoes (1 kg)
  • 8 garlic cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt (to taste)
  • white pepper
  • olive oil (lots of it)

Preparation

  1. Clean and wash the cod.
  2. Wash the unpeeled potatoes and place it a pan with boiling water seasoned with salt. Let it cook for about 20 minutes. When cooked, drain the water and set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, peel and wash the garlic cloves. Chop the garlic and put it in a small pot, add the bay leaf and the white pepper. Cover it with olive oil.
  4. Preheat the oven at 180°C / (350ºF). Place the cod in a baking dish (I seasoned with some white pepper, but it's up to you). Slightly smash the cooked potatoes and place it in the baking dish.
  5. Bring the olive oil sauce to boil and as soon as it starts to boil sprinkle the codfish and the potatoes with this sauce. Season the cod and potatoes with salt (to taste).
  6. Put in the oven about 40 to 50 minutes. Once in a while drizzle with the olive oil sauce.

7. It's ready!!

Let's serve it!


I cooked pointed cabbage to have some greens on the dish. I also serve this meal with a glass of red wine!

Hope you enjoyed this meal!

P.S. - Thanks to the steemitculinarychallenge sponsors and to @ englishtchrivy for promoting this weekly challenge!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Congrats on placing in the challenge. I say this every week, but I am so glad I was not the judge

Very Delicious Recipe.thanks.upvote.you are welcome to visit my food post.greets.

Thanks! Already saw your last recipe, it looks great!

@liliana.duarte Congratulations! This has just won the 5th prize for the last SCC #13

Urray!!! So cool, I really enjoyed to entered this time! Thanks :)​

@liliana.duarte - comment nested :)
no stress and no pressure :)
no worries wink wink

I'm not sure if I will enter this week! I've plenty of lemons at home but lacking time and ingredients for a dessert. Must look to my recipes to get some inspiration ;)

Thanks, I'm glad you like my post.have a nice [email protected].

You are so very talented. I always enjoy your posts

Thank you again, but this comment should been write for me about your posts!

WOW, that looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing this great post, Lliana! Upvoted, followed you and resteemed this post as well!!

Thank you so much @lazariko12!! You really liked it, hum?! :)

@liliana.duarte the best part about it is it's codfish!
My favorite fish! I love it more than salmon!
I'm glad that you gave reference to where you got it. Kudos to you for doing that!

As for the veggies you used with it - I like the cabbage much - and the fact that you used lotz'a garlic on the cod. Good luck!

Thanks @englishtchrivy! The garlic and the olive oil on the cod...it's an indescribable flavour! So good, so good!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54