You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY PLANT DIARY – PAPAYAS IN THE CONCRETE JUNGLE

in #food7 years ago

In the Philippines they have a kind of Sauerkraut (the famous German fermented cabbage dish) made of unripe papayas called atchara
It is very delicious, with lots of vitamins. They also use unripe mangoes for salad and one of my favorite dishes is unripe jackfruit cooked in coconut milk.
Amazing, that you can use unripe fruits like vegetables.

Sort:  

Indeed! When I first saw people eating green mango I had a similar reaction to when you saw the son jump up on his relative with an iron bar.

YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG!!!!

But...they like it like that I guess. And in the end, it is also delicious! But I definitely have a sweet tooth and am patient, I always favor the ripe fruits ;p

I'll have to look out for unripened jackfruit in coconut milk though, that sounds like a delight!

If you can honestly recommend this atchara stuff I'd like to try our hand at it. I have my grandfather's sauerkraut recipe and have been wanting to show my Colombian family.

I enjoy making things that are delicious but don't look like it. This definitely doesn't look like it so....

Nothing to it but to do it!
That´s the thing about an acquired taste, you gotta acquire it. 😘
I´m sure you can find many different recipes for atchara on the internet.
The one I linked to was just an example and not one I specifically tried myself.
The one I had in the Philippines was actually quite simple, but I liked it, very refreshing.
My parents used to mix Sauerkraut(the German one made of cabbage) with pineapple as a salad, that was nice too, so many possibilities. Just experiment a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31