MY PLANT DIARY – PAPAYAS IN THE CONCRETE JUNGLEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Papayas

Papayas are an interesting and easy to grow fruit, as long as you live in the tropics that is. We have been experimenting with papayas for a number of years and today I would like to share with you some of our experiences!

Heres the tree with fruits.JPGPhoto by Ledis Arango V. 'Carica papaya'

Many years ago when we first moved into this concrete box, before we were able to buy a small patch of homestead, we did our best to make the place a little more green! One of the ways we did that was building a four meter by one meter raised garden bed on top of the concrete slab. From the edge of the raised bed, where I am standing, it is approximately 3 feet deep, or 90 centimeters. Before filling it with organic material sourced from the trash around town, I used a hammer drill to break a line of the cement slab down the center of the raised bed. Then we filled it up with grass clippings, pineapple cuttings, horse poop and lots of other organic garbage we managed to find around town.

Today, we are graced with Papaya in this place!

Intro Papaya I planted a papaya in a concrete jungle.JPG
Photo by Ledis Arango V.

The papaya tree requires a lot of water, but we get enough rain here in the mountains so there is no need for irrigation. This makes it a wonderful source of food and fun in the garden, for very little work.

The papaya fruit is filled with lots of circular black seeds. In my experience it is best to plant the papaya seed exactly where you want it to grow, because nearly all seeds easily germinate, the new seedlings have a very fine root mesh and are very susceptible to death if transplanted.

Almost reaching the papaya but it is too high.JPG
Photo by Ledis Arango V.

According to the California Rare Fruit Growers website, Carica papaya comes in two main varieties, the larger mexican variety, shown here, and the smaller hawaiian variety, which is more suited for supermarket distribution.

Papayas grow tall relatively quickly, and here you can see that I no longer can reach the fruits, even standing on the edge of the raised bed on my very tippy-toes!

Even standing on the edge of the raised bed on my tippy toes I cannot reach.JPG
Photo by Ledis Arango V.

Another day we brought the ladder over and finally were able to harvest these papayas. You can build a ladder from bamboo or weld scrap metal together or even buy one at the store. This one is of the scrap metal variety.

Get a ladder and pick harvest that papaya.jpg
Photo by Ledis Arango V.

Here we have harvested 4 papayas. You can see that there is some minor insect damage, and one is just a bit overripe, but there is a lot of papaya to go around! We never apply poisons or chemicals, or even pay much attention to the plant or its fruits until harvest time ;p

Papaya harvest.jpg
Photo by Ledis Arango V.

Before eating the papayas, especially the less ripe ones, we lightly scratch a fork across the flesh of the fruit. You can see in these photos that the papaya releases a white viscous liquid, here its called la mancha.

close up papaya mancha let it.jpg
Photo by Alex EB Trapp

After the slight scratching, the mancha will come out of the papaya and can be wiped off and the papaya prepared for eating! Papaya has a light and sweet flavor and mixes well with other fruits in fruit salad.

dripping papaya mancha.jpg
Photo by Alex EB Trapp 'Mancha de Papaya'



Here is a preview of an upcoming article by my wife about making papaya jelly spread! Looks delicious!

Sliced Papayas ready for making jelly.JPG

Photo by Ledis Arango V.



------------------------------------------------------------


Grow food from concrete - It's more than possible; its what Earth wants ;p

If you like this, or you're like this, check out the Greenest Thumb Challenge by @cryptofarmer

ecotrain-image.png

Sort:  

What happens if you don't release la mancha? Does the fruit spoil or taste bad?

So sorry for taking so long to answer this question - I found the answer, then forgot all about you Mr Questions! ;p

According to my sources - under-ripe, green papayas that have not had their mancha removed taste bitter!

I am going to find this out! It was introduced to me as best practice - will return with an update c:

I just asked my landlord here in Asia and he says it can cause irritation to skin and provoke an allergic reaction. But he also assured me it is a very rate cases%)
Beside it, now I have a good recipe of a salad from unripened fruit%)) lol%) Thanks for being a source to check it out%)) As you stated - there is no end to get knowledge and raise yourself up%))

Image Source

So true Sasha! I love the papaya balloon image!

You always find such wonderful images ;p

I grow food on my concrete balcony ...yay taking it over! LOL

That's the spirit! Liberate that balcony!

In the Philippines they have a kind of Sauerkraut (the famous German fermented cabbage dish) made of unripe papayas called atchara
It is very delicious, with lots of vitamins. They also use unripe mangoes for salad and one of my favorite dishes is unripe jackfruit cooked in coconut milk.
Amazing, that you can use unripe fruits like vegetables.

Indeed! When I first saw people eating green mango I had a similar reaction to when you saw the son jump up on his relative with an iron bar.

YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG!!!!

But...they like it like that I guess. And in the end, it is also delicious! But I definitely have a sweet tooth and am patient, I always favor the ripe fruits ;p

I'll have to look out for unripened jackfruit in coconut milk though, that sounds like a delight!

If you can honestly recommend this atchara stuff I'd like to try our hand at it. I have my grandfather's sauerkraut recipe and have been wanting to show my Colombian family.

I enjoy making things that are delicious but don't look like it. This definitely doesn't look like it so....

Nothing to it but to do it!
That´s the thing about an acquired taste, you gotta acquire it. 😘
I´m sure you can find many different recipes for atchara on the internet.
The one I linked to was just an example and not one I specifically tried myself.
The one I had in the Philippines was actually quite simple, but I liked it, very refreshing.
My parents used to mix Sauerkraut(the German one made of cabbage) with pineapple as a salad, that was nice too, so many possibilities. Just experiment a bit.

Yo la conozco como "lechosa", en mi casa habian sembradas pero nunca me gusto el sabor a decir verdad, las guayabas si me parecen deliciosas

Hay una fruta para cada uno! Guayabas son deliciosas, hace un mes mas o menos hicimos alguito con ellas cuando estaban en cosecha.

¿Que màs tienen sembrada en la casa? c:

Antiguamente teniamos Patillas, Melones, y una plantacion de girasoles, pero mis abuelos decidieron quitar casi todo.

Ahora solo quedan matas de mango y algunas que otra de parchitas.

Ya vi lo que hicieron con las guayabas, aprovecharon todo, no se desperdicio nada jajajja

I am not a big fan of papayas lol but I had lots of them when I was down with dengue fever. They improved the healing process.

Darn I already had a papaya post ready. I sometimes pick them when I walk the dogs. They grow in the wild here. Did you know that the leaves are a very potent medicine that can help to cure dengue? Great post @ecoinstant.

I did not know that the leaves were a remedy for dengue fever! You can never have too many posts or too much knowledge about plants.

I think enough time has past to show us your papayas my friend ;p

Great reminder. I probably do one next week. Thanks.

Man a papaya costs a damn fortune in my country and you got them blowing up in your yard :D So freaking amazing !

Beautiful! I've got a little papaya tree that grew out of my compost three years ago. It's growing slowly, though still it hasn't surpassed my own height. Of course, up here in the highlands it's not as warm as it would like it, but for the circumstances it's doing quite well.

You may want to consider papaya's mountain cousin, the papayuela - I believe it is Carica pubescens according to CRFG.org

Loved it! Never thought you could grow something right on the concrete. Great work.
This tree grows in Colombia, right? Thanks for this entry!

Yes it grows here in Colombia, although the internet is telling me it is native to central america, you can grow it in sub tropical and tropical regions world wide!

Soon I hope to write about papaya's cousin, the high mountain papayuela!

I did smash a narrow hole through the concrete with a hammer drill, thinking that the tree roots could do the rest if they needed to.

Thank you for thinking of such a wonderful contest! I have enjoyed all of the past entries so far, especially sneaky squash in the city!

This is a lovely post my friend! Thanks for the tips using a fork to take out the mancha. Papaya ripen on the tree are just so delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48