Food Comes In All Shapes, Entomophagy.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, let's all eat some bugs. A sizeable subset of the world's
population intentionally eats insects every day, and since the rest of
us are about to lose our jobs to the robots, I guess we should all get
used to the idea.

To be perfectly honest, I don't see it to be a problem, as long as I can
find some tasty bugs on which to munch. There is not much of a difference
to eating dogs, except that dogs are our friends and insects are creepy.
The difference is mostly irrational.

Most of the video I found tries to accentuate the creepiness for sensational,
'look at me' effect. How different is it from eating crustaceans? Aren't
lobsters just large, underwater bugs?

Crawdads and scorpions, the only difference is the sting.

I do have one beef with the people trying to creep me out by eating bugs.
Why do you all seem to enjoy handling the live grubs in front of the camera?
Grubs don't seem that different from a popcorn shrimp. When was the
last time you ate a bowl of popcorn shrimp that were still alive? All you
have to do is cook the little critters, to make them go from queasiness
inducing to presentable food. Yes, I know that some people like to eat
their octopus, or lobster still alive, but every video?

I think I could do it, grow my own even, as long as I don't need to eat
American cockroaches. I grew up with these, and I don't think I'd be able
to without having nightmares. There are some cockroaches that are
about the size of a soft shell crab, maybe if I tried them in tempura.

Here's the full skinny on how insects might keep you fed.
https://web.archive.org/web/20170106042100/http://www.fao.org/docrep/018/i3253e/i3253e.pdf

12 Creepy Crawlies You Can Actually Eat
This first one looks like a land prawn. Prawns are yummy.

images: aloadofcroc.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/dscf0999.jpg
everywhereonce.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/cajun-seafood.jpg
video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I3qV3aetVg

Sort:  

I've got beef with people who eat in front of the camera too. It's a thinly vealed method to try and get us enthralled by Fear-Factor-esque situations. Frankly, it cheeses me off, and I'm gonna go ham if the trend continues.

I never did like that show.

Glad Im a vegetarian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93