Our First Homegrown Pasta Sauce Of The Season!

in #food7 years ago

20170808_124347.jpg

Days ago I was drooling all over my self trying to use jedi mind tricks to ripen my tomatoes, and now bowls of them! Its time for home grown pasta sauce once more. Hurray!

20170808_130631.jpg

20170808_133758.jpg

Added some onion and garlic from the garden. They didn't do so well this year. First time trying to grow them, soil was too dense and full of clay. Have a plan for next year.

20170808_135516.jpg

Added some basil and oregano from the garden, then salt not garden provided.
Slow cooked for a few hours.

20170808_194820.jpg

Added tomato paste and a little bit of sausage that I pan fried. Blended it into a marinara, dinner! Yay garden!

20170808_210904.jpg

Thanks for looking! If you like my posts lets be friends, follow me.

20170808_203854.jpg

Sort:  

This is amazing looking. I made homemade Salsa last year. Too much rain this year so my tomatoes did not produce as much as last year. Thanks for sharing upvoted and now following.

Thank you! We did get a crazy wet winter this year. Thanks for following, looking forward to sharing gardening with you.

Looks delicious

Thanks for reading! Have a great day.

Thank you, it was! One of the best seasonings you can put in your food is watching it grow. Thanks for reading @renodakota!

Looks delicious, our Tomatoes seldom make it to ripe. We like Fried Green Tomatoes lol.

I was just saying I have been wanting to try fried green tomatoes. Thank you! Maybe that will be the next thing I cook, realizing I am going to need lots of tomato recipes. Have a good day.

Thanks! It was good, even better because my beloved plants grew them for me.

Thanks great post will definitely try making my own pasta sauce now, looks delicious

It a fun thing to do on a Sunday evening, hope you have a good day.

Mmmm, it looks so good! I cannot wait to get this kitchen finished so I can get canning :)

I can't wait for your canning post! Been loving your natural remedy posts @elew!

I think my first canning post will be a trial and error, because I never canned at this altitude before, 9000 ft :) I used to live at sea level, so it should be interesting...
After the fall medicine chest is complete I will move on to some lip balm and cream making processes...we will see though. There is sooo much I have to step back and streamline some.

I want to make Lindsay's sour dough bread!!!

9000 ft! Wow! I lived at sea level as well, now I'm at 450 ft. Cant imagine 9000, the air must feel different. Looking forward to your lip balm post.

YUM YUM!

I love when the tomatoes start coming in as I use them for almost everything (and thank you to whomever first invented canning). Are you able to grow garlic all year round there?

I haven't tried, this is my second season of gardening. And the first season I worked all the time so this is almost like my first season. I'm planning on trying to grow year around this year.

Oh wow, you seem so experienced that I would of never guessed. :)

Garlic will grow here year round, as will onions and some kinds of lettuce. I love doing containers for garlic and onions.

ooh containers for the garlic, great idea!!

I use the big black containers that I bought trees in and they work great. I would love to use those half barrels used in whiskey and wine making but I can't see paying the price for them, even though they look so good.

The upside of doing this with garlic and onions is being able to move them should you need to if a severe cold front comes in or whatever -- plus, it's so easy to harvest, just upturn them.

That is a great idea! Being able to move them is a big plus. I like the whiskey barrels as well, I find them romantic. But not that romantic, they are crazy expensive.

bwahahahahahaha... you said it perfectly... cracked me up.

P.S. I had posted a photo of Mr.Willie the one winged rooster for you to see.

Here it it:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@mamadini/growing-sweet-corn-need-some-help

We've got all the ingredients in our garden for this too (although the oregano is a bit weak). Must give this a try. Thank you.

Its so fun to eat and think about growing it, cooking it then sharing with friends and family. Hope you have a wonderful evening when you do. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38