Growing sweet corn -- Need some help.

in #homesteading7 years ago

I am not one to grow much corn as you can see from the photo (I do have another patch about this size of popcorn elsewhere on the property) but I like to have some sweet corn and as ya'll know, sweet corn Starts to turn the sugar into starch the second it's cut -- fresh is best always with sweet corn.

Okay, so... this is the third year I've had sad looking corn and am not sure what I need to do for it (funny as I was born in Iowa, the corn state state) -- when I say sad, it's not having buggy issues, rot, or anything like that, but I just do not get big cobs with plumb kernels (more like half size), any suggestions?

corn3.JPG

Below is my wingless bantam rooster that I saved and rehabilitated (at some point I'll do a post on him and healing stuff for the yard animals), Mr. Willie, I'm posting this for @lifemovedbysteem as we've talked about him. I had to use zoom as he's in a mood today controlling the ladies. haha. One wing only made him more of a rooster. :P

mr willie.JPG

Sort:  

I've seen a lot of corn not growing high in this part of the country this year. What kind of seed corn did you use? I would try aerating or loosening the dirt around the stalks and adding a little natural fertilizer. Cool rooster! :D

The soil is so loamy and wonderful that aerating is not the issue and there is plenty of overhead sun midday, just not early and late so that could play into it.

That one winged rooster is a trip. lol. He tries and sidestep me, thinking he's gonna mount on me. I always tell him that he's going in the pot just to make myself laugh.

He sounds and looks like a character!

He totally is. I raised all my birds from eggs in the house.... he thinks he owns me. HA.

I have had success using the mittleider magic micro-mix. Here is a link to a product that makes 60 lbs. of weekly feed for your garden, plants, trees, etc.
https://www.mvseeds.com/mittleider-magic-micro-nutrient-mix

OH, this does look good. Thank you @prep4shtf. :)

You are very welcome :)

I love him! He's so cute. As for corn, I have no idea. Did that gardening book come in? Maybe it has a tip.

No, I'm still waiting on that book, sometimes amazon books take forever.

He is a total NUT. lol

Okay I looked it up and it says not to remove the suckers as it's detrimental to the development of ears. It also says peas and beans planted with corn will aid in restoring the nitrogen used by the corn and that marigolds and sunflowers are also beneficial.

I have beans and sunflowers planted with them... did not know that about the suckers, yay.
<3

I can't wait for that book to arrive. I've ordered two books since being on steemit.

That's awesome! You'll really like it. Let me know when it finally gets there.

I love your garden, and your one winged rooster! I Love him! He is so beautiful. What a character, looks like he has a great strut!

He is Hilarious! Truly, with all his pompous and strut, it's like that missing wing gave him his real rooster voice. hahaha

Thanks for posting a picture of him. Got a big smile out of that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38