You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food.is.love #6: Miss Eggface Makes - a Fluffy Spotted Omelette

in #food7 years ago

I ate it with white rice and braised pork ribs

You know why I was dying laughing over here! I'm still laughing.

I didn't even know there was such a thing as fish sauce. I need to get out the house more or something. The recipe looks delicious, but green onion... ugh I just don't know if I can do it.

Onions and I are not really the best of friends unless they are sauteed. But I could possibly do that with this recipe.

Sort:  

Why are you dying laughing? Why Why Why? You got my curiosity 101% piqued, Lex!!!! XD

hahaha fish sauce is used a LOT in Thai cooking and other Asian cuisines employ its flavour in their dishes quite frequently too :) It's a rather salty sauce, so usually when you use it, you can reduce or omit the salt in your recipe :))

Hehe the green onion is more like the leafy spring onions..they taste a little different from regular round onion bulbs..Maybe those would be better friends with you? :)

After you had the ribs with your omelet, the story posted about the rib dinner trip. You should have witnessed my smile then. I am still in awe of how big those spare ribs were. You must have a hollow leg on you or burned so many calories that trip from walking that your body was in negative calorie mode, lol.

You really pay attention to know my preference towards foods on the less salty side. I still try things that may be considered "salty" because you never know how the flavor combination could be music to your taste buds.

I did make an omelet the other day but I did not have the fish sauce nor the green onions. @curly-q eats green onions quite frequently, so I was surprised to not find any in the fridge. It's mostly the texture of onions I don't agree with. I can't say I recall cooking with green onions and is why I want to give this recipe a try.

hehehe oh yeahh..what a coincidence =DD

I try to mix posts from my 3 series around so that there's more variety on my blog hehe..(although everything is food-based..hahah!!). So actually the rib dinner trip happened a month back, while the ribs with omelette were eaten almost two weeks ago..hehe..

I'd advice to not make the omelette with green onions if you aren't putting any fish sauce and oyster sauce in..hehe it might taste rather strange ;) because this omelette is more of an Asian flavour hehe..also, for that same reason, it goes well with rice, and not with potatoes or sausages or hashbrowns hehe

I like your approach to 'salty'...you know your preference, but are still open to trying out..I agree that salt does enhance other flavours very very well..I tend not to like my dishes too salty as well, but sometimes, the other flavours need that extra boost :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25