Everyday and Curious Encounters #3 - of Salads and Salad DressingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

I love cooking. I particularly like to prepare salads.
#0003 20170623_124018.jpg
There are so many things that can be added, replaced, and changed in a salad recipe. In this example, I combined:

  • cucumber
  • “datterino plum tomatoes”
  • boiled egg
  • mozzarella

I also mix my own salad dressings. That way, I have full control over what I pour over my meals. And it doesn’t take that much time, anyway, if one prepares up to half a liter of it at a time in a salad dressing mixer.
I don’t remember the exact recipe of the salad dressing used in this picture, but I follow a simple template:

  • 1-4 different oils
  • a type of vinegar
  • a type of mustard
  • natural yoghurt
  • herbs and seeds
  • salt & pepper
  • a pinch of sugar to to balance the acidity, if necessary

Overview of ingredients I have used in the past

OILSVINEGARSMUSTARDSHERBS & SEEDS
olive oilbalsamic vinegarfig mustardchives
sunflower oilwhite balsamic vinegarhoney mustardparsley
rape seed oilcider vinegarhorseradish mustardblack cumin seeds
sesame oil...regular mustardonion powder
pumpkin seed oil...peppermint
hemp oil...
thistle oil
truffle oil
...

Video recommendation
I highly recommend Jamie Oliver’s approach to making salad dressing presented in the following video:

I hope this blog post inspired you to try preparing your own salads and salad dressings!

End of Post Shilling
In case you are wondering why I am uploading this picture a second time, please read the preface of the following blog post:
https://steemit.com/photography/@laivintlich/everyday-and-curious-encounters-1

Right now, I am re-uploading my first 20 pictures. If you wish to see the first 20 entries in high quality right away, you may want to look at them in my very first blog post: https://steemit.com/photography/@laivintlich/greetings-everyday-and-curious-encounters-1-20

If you cannot wait to see the next new photographs, you can visit me on minds.com: https://www.minds.com/Laivintlich

If you want to join minds.com, please consider using my referral link: https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=Laivintlich

Best wishes,
Laivintlich

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44