Slow cooker Pulled pork + Homemade maple BBQ Sauce + yummy left over ideassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemies!!

Yeah I know, got lazy on the posting again but I'll make it worth it for you...it's still cold out and not much picture time but here I am now and I needed something to warm the soul! On one of my last posts, I mentioned something about pulled pork and vanished, I thought I would share my results with you today. I needed some time to try all kinds of things and put it all in one post. This is great to make on Sunday(or your day off) if you are on the go and benefit from having tasty meals fast for a few days if you are like me and don't like eating the same thing too many meals in a row.

pulled_pork2.jpg

I don't cook roasts or even eat much pork because I'm allergic to it a little bit, worth it but I really have to find some soy-free pork for next time but @silvergingerman sure enjoyed it (I did too while it lasted!) I went with a recipe written by someone else I didn't feel it was necessary to re-invent the wheel on something I knew nothing about which proved to be the right move. I would't change a thing to the recipe below, it was spectacular even by itself the cumin and oregano rub really shines thru at takes it to a whole new level. The orange juice gave the meat a sweet tender juicy melt in your mouth texture even as left overs. I kept the juice/fat/gelatin left behind in the refrigerator to re-fry the meat for new dishes and since I believe in using as much as we can, we even kept the carcass to make split pea soup(it was also delicious by the way).

https://www.recipetineats.com/pork-carnitas-mexican-slow-cooker-pulled-pork/?fbclid=IwAR0NwtaUCAVT1U7QYDgYH9XCmz548vwouycbggzf3ioQIU1sbD3OcsylDFY

What goes best with pulled pork? Homemade MAPLE BBQ sauce!!!😍😍😍 Now I had to re-invent the wheel for that one, this is my own recipe and it went really well with the cumin from the pork. If you are making this for something else that isn't rolled in the savory spice, I would suggest you add it to the sauce.

maple_bbq_sauce.jpg
I kept most of the sauce in the pot but the recipe makes about
3 jars.

HOME MADE MAPLE BBQ SAUCE

1 Can of diced tomatoes
1 Can(small) of tomato paste
1/2 cup onion
1 celery branch
2-3 purple garlic clove (white garlic, use a quarter of the whole garlic)

Liquifie in blender or food processor until smooth puree, dump in medium to large pot. Add:

1 Cup molasses
1 Cup maple syrup
3/4 Cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup of coffee whiskey or 1/4 cup of coffee
2 Tsp dry mustard
1 Tsp smoked paprika
2 Tsp worchestershire
3 Tbs dry oregano
2 Tbs onion powder

Allow to simmer covered on low until desired thickness (about 1 hour).

  • NOTE: This isn't meant to be preserved and it makes a lot of sauce but the smell might attract your neighbors! Sharing is caring! Best to eat within the week (you will see tinny bubbles and it will start to ferment when it goes bad, you will know by smelling it). Worry not, I have plenty of uses for you that is sure to leave you drooling for more.

pulled pork3.jpg

First on the list, who doesn't like pulled pork SAMICHES! I used a smoked Gouda for cheese and made a very simple salad with red onions, leaf lettuce, green onions, avocado and sour cream to contrast the bbq sauce. To eat as left overs, in a non-stick pan re-heat the meat in a few scoops of the juice/gelatine mixture on medium heat, allow it to heat up and stir. Once fully heated, add the desired amount of bbq sauce and allow it to heat up but be careful, the sugar in the sauce will caramelize fast. Load onto you favorite bun and top with the salad. BON APETIT!

pulled_pork4.jpg

With all that cumin goodness, I decided on a Mexican inspired pulled pork quesadilla and made a few fajitas style vegetables with onions, red & yellow peppers and spices listed below. It is best to use a cast iron pan to get the nice caramelized outside. I like my vegetables crispy on the inside, if you have picky eaters or are one yourself, cook them a bit longer to your desired tenderness. Only cut the vegetables you need for the amounts of quesadillas you will be making as these are just suggestions for left overs.

SPICES

Onion powder
Celery salt
Smoked paprika (It has to be smoked for best results)
chili powder
ground cumin
salt

For the pork, I re-fried using the same method as the sandwiches. In a large cast iron frying pan(I just rinse the one for the veggies) with a light spray of cooking oil, lay a tortilla flat (off the heat) , on half of the tortilla add a layer of cheese, layer the pork and the seasoned veggies, top with more cheesy goodness and avocado and green onions. Fold over and heat on medium heat. This could also be baked in the oven for a healthier option but it's easier to flip and much tastier fried. Once cooked on the one side, flip over and crisp the other side. Cut into 4 pieces and serve with sour cream.

quasedilla.jpg

Other ideas to use the bbq sauce would be great with fall off the bone bbq pork ribs or oven baked chicken or even a homemade bbq chicken pizza with some peppers, red onions.

Cheers my friends! X🐞X

Sort:  

It all sounds fantastic. I think I am going to try and make your barbecue sauce tomorrow. It obviously makes quite a bit, but then again we eat quite a bit so it won't last that long. I will let you know how it turns out.

Great, I hope you like it! We ate quite a bit of it , it's great for group meals or to share. I just don't see the point in using half cans of stuff when I cook and then have them clutter the fridge, I prefer just sharing it.

I agree it doesn't matter how big your fridge is you will just fill it with rubbish. I am making a slightly smaller batch than yours as a test.

I am on my Way Over for Leftovers tomorrow Night @ladybug146

Hahahahaha fat chance there was gonna be anything left hahahahahahaha

lol I'm sure you would have enjoyed it!

Nice recipe and photos 👍👏🤤

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @ladybug146! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That looks delicious.
I'm intrigued, though, at the combination of maple syrup and molasses. I wonder what the change in taste would be using either or.
Those tortillas are just perfect. Yummy combination of ingredients.

Molasses is a must in any BBQ sauce and I wouldn't substitute that at all, If you do not have access to maple syrup, you can add brown sugar instead to make it to the desired sweetness.

Probably gonna take this down and buy the ingredients and try out!

You should try it!

It looks so grate that now I'm hungry. Is there any left for me? :) The maple barbecue sauce is new to me but I'd love to try it out. Thanks for the recipe!

Oh you know we destroyed those left overs! I love maple syrup and I always look for ways to implement it in my dishes. Hope you enjoy it!

Looks like I am to late then 😀

I can eat a whole pound of pulled out tender meat looks delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm coming to eat.....

Posted using Partiko Android

hehe, you wont regret it!

it looks delicious. without a doubt it is a recipe that I must put into practice. the ingredients are easy to find. I was not hungry, but seeing this post left me hungry. thank's for sharing with us

Thank you! I like to keep my cooking simple but delish, I hope you try it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75