Twisted doughnuts - one of my favourites

in #food7 years ago

IMG_5876.jpg

As I have mentioned 2 days ago here, it is still Carnival season in Hungary, so this is the part of the year when we eat doughnuts most often.

Today I share one of my favorites, the twisted doughnut.

Ingredients:

I usually prepare a double portion, and even that can disappear in a few minutes... :-)

  • 3 spoonfuls of powdered sugar

  • 3 egg yolks

  • 2 spoonfuls of rum

  • the grated zest of one lemon (I use organic lemon)

  • 2 spoonfuls of sour cream (creme freche)

  • 300 g white flour

  • a pinch of salt

  • (in case you do not like if it is very crispy, then you can add a teaspoonful of baking powder, too)

  • vanilla sugar or powdered sugar to the top

  • jam with a few spoons of rum to serve it with

How to prepare it:

  1. Mix the ingredients until you get a homogeneous dough. Wrap it and put it in​ the fridge for approximately 30 minutes.
    IMG_5857.jpg

  2. Roll the pastry until it is approximately 2-3 mm high.
    IMG_5859.jpg

  3. Cut it into rhombuses
    IMG_5860.jpg

  4. Make two cuts on each of your pieces like this:
    IMG_5861.jpg

  5. Pull the corners through the two holes you cut like this:
    IMG_5862.jpg

  6. Fry the twisted pieces in hot oil (it takes only 2-3 minutes per side) until they become nice golden brown.
    IMG_5863.jpg

  7. Put them on a napkin
    IMG_5864.jpg

  8. When they are ready, sprinkle powdered sugar on the top (vanilla sugar is even better)
    IMG_5866.jpg

IMG_5867.jpg

  1. Serve it with rum'n'jam (I use home-made apricot jam with a few spoonfuls of rum)
    IMG_5875.jpg
Sort:  

Delicious... whatever how I try, I can't make it by myself because I'm bad at cooking hehe .... but maybe I'll try...
thank you @ksolymosi for sharing it with us

Try, it is very easy!!! :-)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.25
Server time: 20:32:56
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 212.45/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 49
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This really brings water in my mouth.

:-)))
Glad to hear!

Ah, we call them faworki in Poland :) a guilty pleasure of mine, haha! Recently we had a festive day called Tłusty Czwartek when it's a tradition to eat doughnuts and faworki :) Yours look very delicious. I have never tried them with jam, only with a castor sugar. Next time Grandma makes them I'll try this combination out ;) thank you for the recipe, it's nice to see we have similar customs. There is a saying in Polish that Polish and Hungarian are brothers in arms and in dance hah (my translation is not very good, sorry), meaning friendship :) are you from Budapest by any chance? I'm in love with this city!
All the best,
Klaudia

I live near Budapest, but I work there, so I commute to the city every day. Where do you live Klaudia? I have visited Krakow once in my childhood and I have nice memories of​ it. :-)
Yes, we also have something like Polish and Hungarian are friends forever... This is also a translation... So we have a lot in common.
Try it with jam it is really great (and if you put rum into the jam it is even better :-D)

:) I live in Warsaw, but I know Krakow, its a nice city :) I will try it, I'm very intrigued :)
All the best,
Klaudia

Same to you... :-)

that looks yummm...thanks for sharing the recipe :)

You are welcome, it is great, worth trying it!

Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us in the #steenitbloggers discord server! Yum! 😊

You are welcome, hope you will try it! :-)))

Wow, this really looks good. Kudos dear @ksolymosi

Thanks, same to you... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83