๐ŸŒHave you tried eating escargots?๐ŸŒ

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

I have seen millions of escargots/snails in my garden on rainy days. And seen dishes of escargots on TV or heard of acquaintances eating it. I never had the urge to try it nor it never repelled me.

Always thought it would be a 'gluey' texture somehow. Like the 'glue' or sticky mucus it leaves behind when it slides

๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ

Anyway, decided to try it at a french restaurant. I love trying new food. I had ordered the entrรฉ: "Escargots a l'ail, Burgundy snails cooked in their shell with garlic butter". Shown below
20170723_221953.jpg

First i had to dig out the snail with the spatula and tooth pic provided. The 'meat' was pretty small, it probably shrunk quite a bit, because its shell wasnt that small.
I put the whole escargot meat into my mouth. Felt a bit chewy actually, but not hard to bite in. The closest thing i would say it felt like is probably oyster.
It was cooked in garlic butter so it tasted like 'garlic butter'. The escargot didnt have a strong taste or smell either.

Overall, i would rate it a 6.5/10. Great butter/garlic sauce, went well with the fresh bread.
But the escargots i had nothing to compare it with, having tried the escargots for the first time. Would try it again definitely but not a big escargots-lover at first "taste" either.

Have you tried it? Or would you?

Anyway if today, Monday is your first day of work, i hope it doesnt go too slow. ๐ŸŒ

๐ŸŒKrys

Sort: ย 

Vakkert bilde, escargot snegler er deilig รฅ spise ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿฝ
Simply Delicious

Worth a try hehe

They are delicious ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ

Din tilstedevรฆrelse er hรธy verdi her med god kommentar!

@bullionstackers ~ Curator for #whalepower Community Project

I hated snails my entire life but this cooked form made me drool.๐Ÿ˜
I'd like tasting it once...๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

You should try! It looks better cooked than when you see it in the garden haha

I never thought of eating them I figured it was a weird French thing and sounded gross. I am fairly adventurous when it comes to food but never thought of snails as appealing. When my family went on a cruise a couple years back though they had them pretty much as you are describing as an appetizer at dinner. Since they were included we figured it was worth trying. I was surprised I ended up having 4 servings I believe and my wife got 3, my mom enjoyed them and got seconds. My son wouldn't touch them and my Dad ate one and was not impressed. I was surprised they were actually pretty good, I haven't gone seeking them out but if they show up where I am eating I wont turn it down. Definitely something worth trying at least once, especially since they are not what you think they will be.

Thank you! My thoughts exactly! Good to hear from you and your experience! Any thing new (and edible) is always worth a try isnt it:)

Congratulations @krys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is an informative post. Thanks for sharing. I have known a little more on vacation rental today. @krys

Sorry @dihoa but how is this post related to vacation rental?
@krys is sharing with us her experiences eating a pretty interesting (disgusting?) unique french cuisine..
Copy and Paste replies are not too well received by most members of this community..

@dihoa
I will start Flagging unrelated comment.
If you are not happy, please speak to me at Steemit.chat
@bullionstackers - Curator for #whalepower Community Project

wooow,, i like that.

congratulations @krys

Currently on Blacklist
Flagged

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76