Quick Chicken Pho . . . Sorta

in #food6 years ago (edited)

PHỞ

619A7754.jpg
619A7743.jpg

By far Vietnamese Pho is one of my favorite soups. I love the flavors created by all the spices in it that I would never imagine in a soup before.

Given the opportunity I am always down to go eat a big bowl of this fresh comfort food, but sometimes I don't feel like going anywhere and prefer making it at home. Although there were just 2 times that I made it ever! Ha!

Ingredients:

  • 3 quart filtered water;
  • 1 chicken leg quarter;
  • 1 shallot;
  • 1 cup cooked rice noodles;
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger (sliced);
  • 2 star anise pods;
  • 3 cardamom pods;
  • 3 cloves;
  • 1 stick cinnamon;
  • 2 allspice pods;
  • fish sauce to taste.

Garnish:

  • Thai basil;
  • bean sprouts;
  • sliced chili or jalapeno peppers;
  • fresh cilantro leaves;
  • lime wedges;
  • Hoisin and/or Sriracha sauce.

619A7753.jpg

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 F and roast the chicken leg quarter for approximately 30 minutes. I do enjoy cooking the meat this way for soups because of the flavors it provides.

Fill up your pot with 3 quarts of water, add in your chicken and spices and let it cook at a low to medium heat for about 30-40 minutes. It is best to use cheesecloth for the spices as well, so that you don't have to take them out individually once the broth is cooked.

When that is done, remove the chicken leg quarter out of the pot and discard the bones and skin, cut the meat.
Fill up your soup bowl with this amazing and flavorous broth, chicken slices, rice noodles and garnish, squeeze in lime juice, add in a little bit of sriracha and/or hoisin sauce.

619A7756.jpg


Sort:  

Omg! @kotturinn this looks tasty, and it reminds me of a popular dish in my country called pepper soup, bit instead of noodles, we use beef or fish.

I have never heard of pepper-soup but I will look it up, I actually had a fish in a soup before quite a few times, I like it.

Pepper soup is very popular in Nigeria.

Oh! Gotcha, thanks!

Pho is my favorite.. thanks for this recipe

Very delicious soup ... I 1st time knew about PHO ... we make corn chiken soup overhere in my city same like PHO but we use defferent sauces to make it spicy and hot........

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Thanks! I don't think I heard about corn soup before, I just looked it up, it looked pretty good!

Great post. When I'm at the Asian Market I get those premade seasoning packets for pho that has the anise and cardamom and everything in there. I make chicken broth with leftover carcass and bones and put the seasoning packet right in there. Pho Ga soup!

I bought a packet like that too! But I also have a lot of loose spices too that is why I didn't use it haha. Asian marts are like ... my favorite kind of stores haha.

We mainly only buy chicken breast, so that I had to get some chicken on the bone to cook the broth, it turned out good, but to be honest with you, I think I like beef Pho better :)

Yes, I totally agree. I made beef pho once...roasting the bones and whole 9 yards. It was time intensive but worth it. Have a wonderful day.

I might need to make that soon wow another great recipe from you

Thank you @roofcore! Hope you make it better :D

impossible, but worth a shot

You can do it!

That looks way to good to eat... try to freeze it

Hahaha! Maybe I will next time and then eat it like an ice cream on a chopstick :D

soup looking tasty 🔥🔥🔥 after saw your post hungry again 😀😂

Go get you some food, get full :)
Thanks!

It looks really good, i love homemade soups great job.

Thank you Joey!!! :D

Looks like I know what I'm eating to night!. Been looking for someone to follow for recipes. Thanks.

Wooow amazing photography, Delecious

You welcome upvote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43