Easy French Toast

in #food7 years ago (edited)

What's up you guys!

How about a breakfast recipe around the dinner time? It's still food haha. It has been a minute since I posted a recipe, so I feel like I should probably get back to that.
This time it is a basic french toast recipe, nothing fancy or out of ordinary, anyone should be able to make it with what they have available to them.

Ingredients:

  • some cinnamon and nutmeg to taste (optional);
  • a couple teaspoons sugar;
  • 4 slices of bread;
  • 2 eggs;
  • 30 ml milk;
  • 2 tb. spoons butter;
  • toppings of your choice.

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar and set aside. Heat up your skillet and melt butter over medium heat. Whisk together cinnamon mixture, eggs and milk. Dip bread in egg mixture. Fry slices until golden brown. Serve hot with maple syrup, honey or perhaps even condensed milk? I haven't tried that one before though, but it is pretty good with crepes.

I had some berries around so I used a few raspberries and a couple black berries to top my French toast, a sprinkle of sliced almonds, a tiny pinch of granola and maple syrup, yum!

If you have some cherry-walnut bread, that kind would even make better French toasts, I love it! Sadly, I didn't have any at the time of making this breakfast, oh well.

Enjoy!


Sort:  

You've got it all going on in there - even for a classic recipe, the crunch from the granola and the sweet/tart from the berries - yeah girl!

Thanks! I had a lot of things I wanted to get rid of hahaha

Easy French Toast is really easy & too delicious ... The raspberries and black berries make French Toast very attractive...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Agreed, fresh fruit and nuts make any food so much better, I love putting them in salads too!

Breakfast for dinner RULES!!! LOL

Yup, all you need to do is get up way past afternoon hahaha

That's so delicious so nice :D

Thank you @blazing!

That's right food is food no matter what the time is. :) Thank you for the recipe. Looks delicious.

Thank you @firepower! I would recommend to never use multi-grain bread for french toasts though. It was good but also kind of different too haha

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Anytime :) thank you!

fast and tasty - that's all we need))

спасибо за апы, землячка) люблю-целую))

Очень взаимно! :) спасибо!

One of my favorite dishes. I prefer them with cream cheese. in Romania, we call it "friganele"

Some places go really fancy with their french toasts, it sounds super tasty when you say cream cheese, I should try next time I have bread at the house!

Not the biggest fan of french toasts but that looks delicious

Stop being so picky and eat hahaha

Eheh i am always picky with everythi

I was just making a joke! Nothing wrong with being picky, I assume most of us are!

I really like French toast . I saw you have added some cinnamon and nutmeg . This I haven't tried but I can imagine it adds a very nice boost of flavor - especially suitable for xmas :)

Right on! Thank you :). I added just a little bit of nutmeg and cinnamon though, I don't even think it made a lot of difference to be honest, and the other thing I learned is that I should NOT use multi-grain bread for making French toasts hahaha.

Hahah I can imagine it was not to easy using that bread lol 😂 But then on the other hand I shouldn't be laughing because cooking something like this might already be a challenge for me

Yeah, right! I think frying up some bread can never be too much of a challenge even for someone who is new to cooking. And a little practice would help too! haha

You are right, this dish I definitely should be able to do

Tomorrow's news head lines in Sweden

" Swedish man living in China severely injured from cooking French toast"

That would certainly make the news hahaha, hopefully @damira supervises you while you're creating meals by the stove :)

She does actually. I can feel her nervousness when I enter the kitchen hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48