White rice will make you fat !!! (Lifehack inside!)

in #food8 years ago

Everybody loves eating Rice, I love rice. I could eat rice all day. 

Did you know that eating rice is not as healthy as you think? There are several ways to consume rice. White and brown rice are the most common ones.

EXPOSEDFile #1


Are you aware that one small bowl of rice contains around 250kcal? If I eat at a Japanese restaurant I usually eat 2-3 rice bowls. So that would be 750kcal. That's a lot...!

At home I tried eating brown rice, but I don't like brown rice. So I started mixing brown rice with white rice. Than I started adding other stuff like chia etc. So for a while I went all rice mixxing crazy but after a while I became lazy and just started eating white rice again. 

10 years ago a Japanese friend introduced me to Mannanhikarimannanhikari
Mannanhikari is made of Konjac

Amorphophallus_konjac_knolle
Picture By Sebastian Stabinger 

Konjac is unknown to most western cultures, but huge in Asia. It is used as a dietary supplement and has a lot health benefits.

"Konjak has almost no calories, but it is high on fiber. The dried corm of the konjac plant contains around 40% glucomannan gum. This polysaccharide makes konjac jelly highly viscous  and may be responsible for many of its putative health benefits as used  in traditional Chinese medicine, detoxification, tumour-suppression,  blood stasis alleviation and phlegm liquefaction." Wikipedia

Mannanhikari looks like normal whiterice but it is made of Konjac. You just mix it into your white rice before cooking 

2016-09-18 11.43.17

By just mixing Mannanhikari into your rice it will cut the calories of a normal rice bowl down by 33% and it will skyrocket the amount of dietary fiber (2x the amount of dietary fibers than in brown rice) and it is glutenfree!!

Ready cooked white rice with Mannanhikari

WhatsApp Image 2016-09-21 at 11.12.05

Unfortunately until now, you could only buy this in Japan, but last time at REWE in Germany I found out that you can now buy Konjak in Germany.

I bought a package to try it out!! It's sold by DUOTRADE KONJAK 

2016-09-16 12.19.55

2016-09-16 12.20.07

The concept is a bit different than the original Japanese version. It is in a package containing the Konjak and a liquid. You have to wash the Konjak before cooking it. So wash it under water and than mix it into the rice. 

2016-09-18 11.29.38
The outcome is the same, the rice is as tasty as usual but you reduced the calories!!! Only thing I didn't like about that German version is, that it is Made in China.

Are you a rice-eater? Will you try out Konjak? Please leave your comments!!! 

If you like my Post, please follow me! 

I am blogging about the following topics :

  • I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
  • Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
  • Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
  • SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food ,Drinks, Gadgets)
  • Steemperlen (German Version)
  • SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
  • COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
  • Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Sort:  

I tried it plain, it has no taste and its sort of rubber-ish. Hard to make it taste good, but mixing it with rice is a very good idea!

yep. it has not taste and you wont even notice it mixxed with rice ;)

Nice post @knozaki2015 !
I didn't know about this ...I will try to see If I can find in my Country (Romania) this Mannanhikari if not maybe I can order it ...

i think you will be order it at rakuten japan. but romania might be hard to find it.

I cut out white rice a while ago, only eat brown basmati (not keen on longrain). Konjac sounds interesting, thanks for the tip!

yeah, you could still mix it in the brown rice. it wont change the taste. I read that brown rice has problems too with acid etc. but konjak is really awesome !

upvoted @knozaki2015 - this is freakin true - white rice could make you fat and eating too much white rice would cause diabetes.
i still eat rice but the silver rice and more veggies - than rice

try konjak! it is really awesome . there is several forms of it.

It's true. At least, I believe because we have some news of that in local media in Singapore:
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/diabetes-the-rice-you-eat-is-worse-than-sugary-drinks

Need to look up "Konjak" in my country :)

well yeah there are many names of it! try to find it and report please

so no rice no soya. Better write what to eat :)

nah I didn't say that. too much will make you fat, that's all.
but reducing the calories while doubling the fibers is great.

White rice in moderation isn't going to make you fat.

Just eat whatever you like in moderation and enjoy your life for goodness sake.

Hey, that's true. if you don't over eat white rice it's fine.
but many people thing plain white rice it's healthy. that's not true

Hey there.

many people think plain white rice is healthy.

You might be right about people thinking that. I live in the San Francisco bay area, so perhaps there is some health nut knowledge bias here. If it's not vegan and grown in expensive imported organic dirt, some folks won't bring themselves to eat it around these parts.

My MO is to just say balance and moderation is the best policy for a "healthy" life, so you can indulge yourself to some degree and yet still be "healthy" - whatever that truly means.

And I dislike clickbaity titles, so I felt I needed to tone that part of it down by stating the obvious of "moderation, moderation, moderation". Rice doesn't make you fat any more than a loaf of bread or a potato makes you "fat". Eat just about any food in excess and you will get fat. Sorry to be Captain Obvious.

Take care!

true, the title was maybe a bit too catchy. I am always to strip the title down to the core and make it as interesting as possible. but well, maybe this was a bit too clickbait..

also don't you think its strange that most of the pour countries where poor people mainly eat white rice, are skinny!

It is not strange, 1.) for example in japan the popularity is getting more and more heavier due to western lifestyeles (burger etc) 2.) in poor countries, you eat more local food, and not the evil american food. so most of the people stay slim. and in poor countries you walk more, work harder and burn more calories. so, no it's not strange that people in poor countries are slimmer

Anything will make you fat if you eat too much of it.

exactly. I just wanted to show a way, how to eat the same amount of rice, while making it healtier, avoiding calories and even doubling the fibres in the rice.

very interesting, I had never heard of Konjac. Thank you for posting!

actually 97% of the people I talk to have never heard of konjac. ;) It's really an awesome product...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84