How to make the perfect 手巻き寿司 (Hand-rolled Sushi) party

in #food8 years ago (edited)

In this 3rd Episode of COOKED I am going to show you how you can impress your friends with a Sushi Party.

You can buy most of the stuff at any Asia Market or go to a Carrefour or any big supermarket. 

My best friend Anton visited me so I made a party for his wonderful wife, his daughter Antoinette and 2 other friends. They were totally satisfied ;)

Easy Dishes ToMake For Your50th BirthdayDinner P

Things to buy

  • Soysauce (best is Kikkoman)
  • Mayonnaise
  • Nori (Seaweed)
  • Sushi Rice (HOWTO)
  • Sushi Vinegar
  • Can of Tuna
  • Natto
  • Sashimi (Tuna, Salmon, Surimi, Scallops, etc. whatever you like
  • Avocado
  • Cucumber

First prepare the Sushi rice and put it in a ball or on a plate (the rice has to be cooled down, tastes better than warm rice)

2016-09-02 18.11.37
Mix the can of tuna with Mayo and a bit of soysauce
2016-09-02 18.12.11
Mix the Natto with the provided sauce and the mustard (It is in the package usually)
2016-09-02 18.12.16
If you bought the fish in one piece, use a very sharp knife to prepare it (find a tutorial how to do Sashimi) Best is to buy sliced Sashimi in the supermarket or fish market
2016-09-02 18.12.33
Cut the Nori paper in 4 pieces
2016-09-02 18.13.15
You need great soysauce. Buy Kikkoman or other Japanese Brands. Best is this new type of Kikkoman, its a new type of bottle and the Soysauce will taste best for 90days, as it's a vacuum bottle without air getting in
2016-09-02 18.14.50

Put Nori on a plate, place the right amount of rice you like and add the fish you like. I am putting the Soysauce on the fish before rolling it (but you don't have to do that)
2016-09-02 18.16.49
I love scallops, a bit expensive but you can get 2-3 for every person. Additionally I used shiso, which is the japanese basilico. This adds an awesome layer of tastiness to the Maki.
2016-09-02 18.37.40
Be creative. Do 50/50 Rolls. So Natto + Tuna so you can enjoy two things in one roll ;)
natto
Ready to eat scallop roll
scalloroll

Last thing, there is no rules with Handroll Sushi. You can add Paprika, Philadelphia, Mozarella, raw/roasted onions anything you like !!! 

If you have vegetarian or vegan friends this is very good, as you dont have to think what to serve them. 


Post your own favorite sushi pictures in Comment!!! And let me know if you will host your own sushi party soon !


_______________________________________________________

If you like my Post, please follow me! 

I am blogging about the following topics :

  • I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
  • Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
  • Lifehacks (How to save money, Introduction of cool products) 
  • SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food and Drinks)
  • Steemperlen (German Version)
  • SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
  • COOKED (4 Episodes Cooking Series)
Sort:  

It is super easy and so much cheaper than to go out !

mmm)) i like it)

;) yeah hopefully others can try this kind of sushi party too ;) in japan this is more common at home than eating normal sushi

or go to the 'Carrefour'

:D

they have fish I think ? or did you mean i made a mistkae with a/the?

No, no, it is just a way to spot that you are french (or live in France) Am I wrong?
I think in other countries they would be like: 'wtf is Carrefour?!' ;-)

lol there is Carrefour everywhere. In Albania too

oh ok, at least I've never seen in the US or Canada

nah, carrefour is anywhere in the world ;) except the us ;)

I never try it, but I would like to do it. It looks delicious!

it is super easy ! you should try

I think you can be a good trainer. Looks like tasty and healthy.

;) well its super easy, as easy as making a good panini ;)

Looks tasty and healthy. I am not very good at making recipes or following them but going to give it a try. Keep sharing good work @knozaki

thanks funnyman! its very easy to make sushi . at least this rolled sushi. normal nigiri sushi is impossible to make usually ;) at least you need training for 2 years to be good at it.

Looks like Intense training :)

Interesting post. I never thought of trying to make it .

it is actually super easy. and you could use anything you want to put into it. even fruits

I have actually never tasted sushi. I may have to change that, this looks delicious :-)

Yea, lets have a sushi party. I love Japanese food and sushi is one of my favorite. I was at the fish market in Tokyo this February and the sushi there was excellent.

well than you know how sushi has to be made. I love the little shop in tsukiji ! so fresh

I have made sushi once, it did not turn out great but still edible. With your tips, maybe I will make better sushi next time. Failing which, the other alternative is to buy them with my hard earn steem dollars

haha ;) if you do a party, its cheaper to do it yourself and much more fun.
Normal sushi is difficult, but this hand-rolled sushi is super easy !

It's true that I will save money. I will give it a try and make my own following your tips

You are the perfect sushi master!

thank you tanata. ;) I had a look at your blog ! keep posting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43