Farm #8: Bamboo Harvesting in Japan

in #food7 years ago

Bamboo

Most people in the world have seen Bamboo somewhere. In Gardens, maybe at the famous Bamboo Forrest in Kyoto etc. But most of the people in the world never get to harvest fresh bamboo and to eat it. In my opinion Bamboo is one of the finest things to eat in Japanese cuisine. You have to try it once in your life, that stuff you get in cans and glasses in supermarkets, thats fraud, it does taste so bad compared to fresh bamboo.

Bamboo Harvesting

2017-05-04_10.39.24


2017-05-04_10.42.46


2017-05-04_10.53.19


2017-05-04_10.58.31


2017-05-04_16.43.45


2017-05-04_16.48.40


2017-05-04_16.48.47

The tricky part about harvesting is to find the new bamboo you have to get them out once you can see them and usually you can see 20-40cm of it. You use a shovel and cut through the bamboo and get it out. After you get enough of them you just peel the outside layers (like an onion) and get the bamboo out. You put that into water to get some poison out of it and after a day you can cook it in hot water with some Japanese Dashi and you will get the best bamboo you ever tasted. It is super delicious.

Ever had the chance to eat fresh bamboo ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food, Drinks, Gadgets)
Steemperlen (German Version, Series Ended)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Frequent Traveller (New series about Travel Hacks and FFPs) 
HEAVEN (NEW Luxury Travel Magazine)
FARM
German Sausages
GADGET

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life

Sort:  

Que rico jamas imagine que el bambú se pudiera comer , creía que era alimento para los pandas o algo así, @knozaki2015

wow thats a bamboo shoot

Great article, I love to eat bamboo related dishes (in Malaysia, we have lemang chicken fill in bamboo stick) , but I never try bamboo shoots cuisines. I wonder how it would taste like, especially Japanese bamboo?

Yes i have tried it, those are mainly baby bamboos which are fit for eating. Coming to bamboo have you ever tried "bamboo chicken" ?

what do you mean by baby bamboo. these will be huge within 2 -3 days ;)

I've never had a chance to eat bamboo. I will if I ever get a chance. I like trying new food. I'll keep in mind that canned bamboo is a fraud. Thank you.

well canned bamboo just tastes ugly. like milk .. if you ever drunk milk at a farmer you will know what I mean

Lovely article. We really have a lot of them here in Africa

do you eat bamboo in africa?

Sincerely No. Its used for building construction mostly

Ah, I've been to the Kyoto Bamboo gardens. This is a lovely post though. Great job @knozaki2015

thank you ! did you like the kyoto bamboo garden?

I really did. To walk down the path and be surrounded was such a beautiful experience.

☺☺☺👍👍👍👍

Your post reminded me of the trip I had in Japan at Arashiyama at the Bamboo Park. Great place to go if you haven't been 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30