Today’s juice: Blueberry Salad

in #food8 years ago (edited)

This recipe is a modified version of one which I found in a book called “Plenish” written by Kara Rosen. The original recipe calls for coconut water but I didn’t have any, so I substituted it for more apples. You would be surprised how sweet this juice is.  

Blueberries are ranked as one of the worlds healthiest food thanks to their rich content of anthocyanin antioxidant. This antioxidant is especially beneficial for keeping healthy nervous system and for increasing memory. They have a low glycemic index which makes them great fruits to be consumed by people with diabetes type 2. 

Enjoy!! 

Suzanah   


To make ~1 L (33.8 oz.) of juice with slow juicer, I have used: 

  • 1 cup of blueberries (150 g/ 0.33 lb) 
  • 4 apples (650 g/ 1.4 lb) 
  • 3 celery sticks (160 g/ 0.35 lb) 
  • 3 big handfuls of spinach (250 g/ 0.55 lb)

Take the ingredients, cut into pieces so they will fit in a juicer, juice, mix and it is ready.

Approximate nutrition:

*Based on 2000kcal per day diet

Sort:  

Looks great! My problem are the blueberries...they would never make it to juicer. lol

My favorite snack each day.

Thanks! and I know what you mean, blueberries are so good as they are. This time I had some leftover from making blueberry dumplings so I quickly added them in a juicer. Otherwise they would be eaten in an instant, either by my family or by me :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.30
ETH 3389.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50