One-cup cake with poppy seeds

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I was visiting my family these past two weeks and my aunt shared with me a super simple recipe for a cake made only of the egg whites. Today, I had some egg whites left and I decided to make this sweet treat. I made it with poppy seeds but it also taste great with desiccated coconut or crushed nuts. 

Enjoy!!

Suzanah

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup egg whites (about 7) 
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup poppy seeds
  • 125 g butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Steps:

1. Melt butter and set it aside to cool down. 

2. Beat egg whites until stiff.

2. Add sugar and mix whites with the sugar.

3. Sieve in flour, add poppy seeds, vanilla sugar and baking powder and slowly mix everything together. 

4. Then mix in melted butter and place it in a baking dish (24-28 cm round baking pan)

5. Bake in preheated oven at 200 oC for 30 minutes.

6. Let it cool down, optionally coat the top with chocolate and enjoy.

Badges - courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Love poppy seeds. Simple, will be making :)

I like them too!! Enjoy the cake!!

Awesome food post!! Keep these coming!

Thank you so much!!

Amazing! I definitely want to try this.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you!! And I hope you will like it as much as I do :D

@knittybynature that looks delicious!
so no yolk ?
can you also use honey instead of sugar - but then little honey?
it's too huge a cup cake so I'll just have a tiny slice please :)
would I ever see you in the SCC again? I wonder?

Thank you and yes no yolk. I made some hollendaise sauce with the yolks and I had a lot of whites left so I used them for this cake :D
As for the honey I am not sure I have never tried it like that but if you do let me know if it worked :D
And yes I will be participating in SCC for sure!! I think it is a very fun idea. I was visiting my family the past two weeks so I was missing in action but I am already thinking of the cheeseless burger recipe!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65