Chocolate muffins made out of juice pulp

in #food8 years ago (edited)

It is a huge waste to throw away fruit and vegetable pulp left from juicing. I try to make one juice each day and I never throw away my pulp. I add it to soups, give it to my dog to eat (as long as it doesn’t have things that are toxic for pets) or add it to the pile of compost.  Today I want to show you my recipe for making chocolate muffins. 

 I have been experimenting for a while to make the pulp muffins not too wet and not burned and these recipe is exactly what I wanted. I have just made an ABC juice from apples, carrots and beetroots. Juicing left me with about 500 g of pulp, which I transformed into 30 muffins. 

Enjoy!! 

Suzanah  

Ingredients to make 30 medium size muffins: 

  • 500 g/ 1.1 lb of juice pulp, which is rich in root vegetables (carrot, beetroot, sweet potato etc.)
  • 3.5 cup of flour 
  • 4 tbsp of cocoa 
  • 3 tsp of baking powder 
  • 1 cup of oil/butter 
  • ½ tsp of salt 
  • 4 eggs 
  • ½ cup of milk/yogurt/buttermilk
  • 1 cup of sugar   

Steps: 

1. Preheat your oven to 180 oC (355 F).

2. Sieve flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa and mix them together. This is your dry mix.

3. Mix sugar, eggs, milk and oil together. These is you wet mix.

4. Fold the wet mix into the dry mix till you get batter of smooth and quite thick consistency.

5. Fold the pulp into the batter.

6. Place batter into the muffin cases and bake in the oven at 180 oC (355 F) for 30-35 minutes.

7. Cool the ready muffins on a cooling rack for couple of minutes.

And enjoy!!

Sort:  

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 27 Nov 2016 - 17:27 UTC

Chocolate muffins made out of juice pulp — Steemit

steemit.com/food/@knittyby… / https://t.co/XE9KU6HNT8

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23