You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Healthy Snacks - # 19 Sticky Apple & Fig Cacao Swirl Pastries (No Sugar) - An Original Recipe

in #food7 years ago

Damn, I wish I could eat grains. Those look delicious. I better go and have some breakfast before I start drooling on the keyboard.

Sort:  

:-) Thanks @kiwideb. Do you think there'd be any way to make a version you could eat? Someone was also just asking me there about wheat free version, but I have no idea about pastry without using wheat flour?

Probably not me, because I'm avoiding all grains and restricting my fruit at the moment. But when I'm a bit more relaxed again, I'd maybe try with almond flour or coconut flour or a combination. But they are a bit more difficult to work with and probably wouldn't roll easily. Here's a paleo pie crust, but she doesn't roll it, just presses it in.
https://elanaspantry.com/paleo-pie-crust/

I think you could use any gluten free pastry recipe if you weren't avoiding all grains and starches. Here's one but there are probably lots of possibilities
http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-a-gluten-free-pie-crust-237527

Great, thanks very much for your suggestions!

I was just copying this to a word doc to save for trying later, and I realised I didn't know where to add the ground almonds. To the pastry presumably? If so, I'm making almond pastry anyway ;-)
I also had a thought that if the almond pastry couldn't be rolled easily, it could probably be pressed into small muffin tins to make mini tarts. Or even a thumbprint cookie. Did you post one of those a few months back?

Hi @kiwideb, I mixed the ground almonds in with the cacao mixture... I hadn't thought about using it in the pastry but that would be lovely too, good thinking!

You know, I'm not sure if I posted something like that or not... I've made mini cookies and a few things like that, and I use ground almonds a lot so perhaps it was!!! I'll have to try making little tarts as you say, because that sounds so good. Sorry my memory is exceptionally bad these days as my little one doesn't let me get enough sleep!!!

Doh! You did say where to add the ground almonds, now I have another look, and I completely missed it.

For the thumbprint cookies, I don't know where I saw them but just searched and found this one on Steemit
https://steemit.com/food/@wildfamily/almond-thumbprint-cookies-gluten-free-recipe-demo-in-kat-s-kitchen
That recipe with your fig mix in it might be perfect and pretty easy to do, if the dough won't roll. I'd even leave out the maple syrup. There will be plenty of sweetness in the filling.

So @stephen-somers idea of tapioca starch and coconut oil would work. Tapioca starch can be switched with arrowroot flour.

Ooh thanks very much for that! I don't know why I thought 'thumbprint cookies' were little cookies, the size of a fingerprint, you know, but now I see they're like what my Grandma used to call 'thumbpots'. I was actually thinking of those a few days ago, how's that for synchronicity! I will have a think as I need to create some more recipes, and thank you as I like the idea of doing it with the fig & apple filling... those flavours work so nicely together

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68737.86
ETH 3840.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62