Vegetarian buffalo wing wrap...yup I did that and you could too!

in #food7 years ago

IMG_8451.JPG

April 5th 2016 was my first day as a vegetarian. I read the book "The Happy Vegan" by Russell Simmons and it changed the way I wanted my relationship with food to be.

IMG_8452.JPG

It's been over a year and I have been transforming some of my favorite dishes into vegetarian versions.

I had a taste for hot wings today.....like really bad.

IMG_8453.JPG

There is a sandwich and smoothie cafe not far from my house that has a AMAZING buffalo chicken wrap. They have a beyond meat chicken substitute which makes it vegetarian. I didn't want to spend $50 for dinner for the whole house to eat at Tropical Cafe so I made it myself at the house.

IMG_8454.JPG

I must say it tasted just as good as the Cafe's version and only for 25% of the price! 💪🏾💪🏾

IMG_8450.JPG

IMG_8448.JPG

IMG_8447.JPG

IMG_8451.JPG

  • King Steele
Sort:  

I have to make these one day!!

Sooo easy ....literally 15 minutes from freezer to plate

Awesome. I used to love Buffalo wings and was really happy when I figured out that a sandwich is a great way to approximate the experience.

Wrap looks delicious.

Gardein has a good "chik'n" tender imo if you want to look into it.

Thanks!! I'm going to see if my local store carries that brand....I have been on the hunt for the best substitute. Quorn brand has a good chik'n substitute and a good ground beef substitute...the breakfast sausage is blah

Oh and just followed you @full-measure

Sweet, thanks!!!

Cool! You mentioned Tropical Smoothie uses Beyond Meat .. I like their imitation chicken too.

They also make the "Beyond Burger" which is this ridiculous new thing that looks and fries off like regular beef, you could YouTube it.

My favorite "meat" product is probably this: http://vegetarian-plus.com/product/vegan-kung-pao-chicken/

It's not super cost-effective. The only place I know to find it is Whole Foods, for $6.49 or once in a blue moon $5 on sale. (But convenient, comes in the sauce so you just heat it up.)

It looks delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52