Decadent Chocolate Cake with Homemade Chocolate Sauce Recipe | Egg-free and Non-dairy

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Decadent Chocolate Cake with Homemade Chocolate Sauce

As I'm typing this post, I am helping myself to my 4th(yes 4th!) serving of this moist bittersweet chocolatey goodness. I have made this recipe a ton and its the always the perfect indulgence when I want chocolate. The honey in this cake provides just a enough sweetness, but also allows you to fully enjoy the bittersweetness from the chocolate. I made a chocolate sauce in place of icing which is smooth, perfect and delicious pairing. One of the best things about this cake, is that it is quick to make! So let's get started.

IMG_8509.jpg

Ingredients:

1 C flour
1/4 C and 1 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vinegar
1/3 C non-dairy butter(melted) or vegetable oil(coconut oil works too)
1/2 C honey(for vegan substitute other liquid sweetener)
3/4 C water

For chocolate sauce:

1/2 C powdered sugar
2 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
4 tsp non-dairy milk or water

IMG_8485.jpg

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Grease a 9.5 inch pie pan or 8x8x2 inch baking dish*
  • Add dry ingredients to prepared pan and whisk thoroughly until combined
  • In separate bowl thoroughly mix wet ingredients EXCEPT vinegar
  • Make a dent in dry ingredient mixture and pour in vinegar
  • Pour wet ingredient mixture in pan and whisk with dry until combined
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until knife or toothpick comes out clean
  • Let cool in pan for 5-10 minutes, gently run knife around edges to release them before flipping cake onto cooling rack

*This recipe makes 1 single layer cake, 8x8x2 dish will provide slightly taller cake

IMG_8488.jpg

IMG_8489.jpg

IMG_8498.jpg

IMG_8501.jpg

Instructions for sauce:

  • In clean bowl, whisk together ingredients for sauce
  • After cake cools, drizzle sauce over cake and serve with berries(optional)

IMG_8506.jpg

IMG_8509.jpg

Thanks for reading, and if you try this recipe I would love to hear how to turned out!

Peace,

Kawthar

All Content and Photographs are My Own.

Sort:  

It really is. The chocolate sauce is what sets it over the edge. Im having another slice tonight haha.

Yay, a new kawthar recipe!

Do I have to use non-dariy milk and butter? You said "layer", does that mean I could bake 2 or 3 of them and make a multi-layer cake? :3

Hi! yes and this recipe is sooo good! haha. The reason you need non dairy for the cake is because the vinegar reacts with the baking soda to allow this cake to rise. This cake is meant to be vegan(except I used honey so thus it isn't) . If you use dairy butter in the cake, it will react with the vinegar and change the composition of the cake, as milk and vinegar tend to curdle. So, you can sub oil for non-dairy butter which i've done tons of times and it works great. In the chocolate sauce, its okay to use dairy milk or water. You can layer this cake as well, but I recommend mixing each layer in individual batches instead of separating one big batch into different pans.(does that make sense)?

I thoughtt the non-dairy mihght only be to make it vegan. Thanks for the quick lesson on cooking chemistry ;D.

I dont know why, but I really want to put some banana or vanilla cream in between 2 layers. Doesnt make the recipe easier, I guess ^^

Yum, those are really good ideas!

I had a similar question, but your response was perfect! Thank you for the recipe and the help!

You're welcome! Let me know if you try the recipe! ^.^

Will do. I live in an almond area and I think sprinkling some roasted almonds in with your decadent chocolate sauce sounds like a really good idea!

That's a smart idea. Roasted almonds would add a nice nutty crunch!

Mmmm, I am hoping so! I thought I would get tired of using almonds as ingredients here, but no so. They use them in every way possible, sauces, pastry fill, stuffing for poultry or fish even. So good! So yes, I will definitely make use of your wonderful recipe and let you know how it comes out. Have I resteemed this yet? There, now everyone else can have chocolately dreams as well.

Jennswall, Aw thanks so much for the resteem! That means a lot! ^.^. Have you ever eaten green almonds? When they're still a green shell on the outside and have a white seed. Where my husband is from, it's quite a delicacy there. They eat it as a snack with salt.

This looks delicious! I will definitely try the recipe sometime :-)

Let me know how it turns out! :) I honestly never thought to make bbq sauce with salmon before but my husband suggested so I gave it a go and it tastes sooo good!

Thanks for the resteem! :)

You're quite welcome :D

It´s vegan! Yay!

Will defo try this. Thanks for sharing.

Hi @brameld, Yes, I actually make a lot of vegan recipes because that's just how I eat most days! Let me know how you love the cake!

Beautiful cake. The vinegar/bicarb raising agent always gives a great rise with no aftertaste. It looks really light and yummy. My sort of cake. X

Yes! Do you have experience with that combo in other recipes? This is the only recipe I've tried it in. It is very light and it was still moist when I finished the last slice 3 days after baking. :)

Yes, it is an excellent combination as a raising agent. In breads and cakes. Too involved a subject for here so will do a post later on this. Sorry late in replying....life gets in way! X

Hi again. I have posted the article on your question above, You will find it at:
https://steemit.com/life/@get-baking/baking-powder-or-baking-soda-and-vinegar-a-facinating-conundrum-which-do-you-use-when-baking-your-cake
I hope this gives you the information you require? X

Wow, that looks like something I would eat too much of ( :

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64