A delicious autumnal delicacy - pumpkin soup made from freegean vegetables 🎃

in #food5 years ago (edited)

zu dy.jpg

Pumpkin cream soup is a classic autumn dish that warms and saturates for a long time. And since I like it a lot, I often eat it in the pumpkin season. I didn't buy a pumpkin this time. Pumpkin appeared on my occasion of a freegan trip to the nearby bazaar. I learned that an action was being organized together with the city authorities and bazaar sellers. On some days of the week, you can come at certain times and save food that would be thrown away because for some reasons it does not meet the standards of sellers. I admit that I had mixed feelings whether to take part in it, whether the vegetables would be good to eat or whether it was safe at all, but I decided to try. I was surprised that someone wanted to throw away such good vegetables - see for yourself. Do these vegetables look so bad that they should go to the trash?

zbiory free.jpg

Pumpkin was also, in my opinion, virulent. She lacked nothing. And the pumpkin variety - the giant pumpkin was perfect for soup. It is very easily cut and has a wonderful, delicate taste. I remember I once bought a Hokkaido pumpkin and I was tired of cutting it. Butternut squash is also great for soups - it has an oblong, pear-shaped shape and a beige color.

dynia.jpg

Now I will describe step by step how I made soup. I used the recipe given on Lidl's website. It once worked and I have been using it ever since.

** Pumpkin cream soup - recipe **

Ingredients

2,2 pounds (lbs) pumpkin
1 carrot
1 onion
2 garlic cloves
3 cups vegetable broth
salt
pepper
2 tablespoons of olive oil

Source: https://kuchnialidla.pl/krem-z-dyni

First, I peeled the pumpkin and cut it into pieces.

dynia2.jpg

Then I cut the rest of the vegetables into small pieces. Carrot was also freegan ;) (it came from saving food at the bazaar).

reszta warz.jpg

In the next step, I poured 2 tablespoons of olive oil into the bottom of the pot with a thick bottom.

łyżki.jpg

Then I fried the vegetables in a pot for three minutes, stirring them all the time.

warzywa.jpg

Then I started making the broth. For lack of time, I used a stock cube to make it. I added the broth to the pot and cooked it for 30 minutes.

zu.jpg

At that time I roasted pumpkin seeds in a frying pan.

pestki.jpg

I also made small toasts. I like to sprinkle soup on them.

grzanki.jpg

When 30 minutes passed and the soup was cooked, I blended it on a cream mass.

zupa d.jpg

I seasoned it with pepper a little and then decorated with delicious toppings.

zupa z dyn.jpg

zupa z dynii.jpg

It was very tasty !! The household members quickly emptied their plates;)

Maybe you know some nice pumpkin soup recipes? Or some other pumpkin peciepes? If so, please write about them in the comments. I like to be inspired by culinary :)

This post participates in the competition called FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY (the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks) :)

mój obraz instamini.jpg

Original content by @katiefreespirit

Sort:  

Wow! It's so nice! Thanks a lot :)

You are most welcome Katie 😊

Soup to warm up a frozen soul in the autumn.

Yes, totally! :)

I just bought a big, beautiful heirloom pumpkin at the farmers market this weekend! Trying to figure out what I want to do with it to do it justice. I do love a good squash soup. :)

Thanks so much for joining us for #fruitsandveggiesmonday! We always love seeing new people. Though I think Lena did mention in a comment on the contest post that we request no animal products in any recipes. There are lots of easy ways to replace, though, so we would love to see you join again! If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

In a fun little coincidence my name is Katie and my boyfriend is Polish. ;)

I used vegetable broth (from stock cube) to cook this soup. I forgot to change the original recipe, where chicken broth is mentioned... oh... I changed it now. Next time i will write it properly - 100% vegan recipe from the beginning ;) Heh.. Nice coincidents :) Maybe I will add some traditional polish recipes in the future :)

Thanks so much for the edit! :) I would love to see some of your traditional recipes. My boyfriend's mother has made Gołąbki for me with lentils before and it was delicious!

Congratulations @katiefreespirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62