Have you ever considered using Burrata in stead of Mozzarella?

in #food7 years ago

I really have a sweet spot for Burrata. And with sweet spot I mean: I could literally eat this every day. But as with so many things we shove into our mouths, we have absolutely no idea what it is or where it comes from. I decided to go for a little more background for myself on what Burrata actually is.

The biggest difference to start with between Mozzarella and Burrata is that Burrata has cream added to it. That is why the inside of the Burrata is so much more creamier and to me more enjoyable. In general the basic ingredient is buffalo milk but also sometimes cow milk is used for it. Historically Burrata was found in Italiy to use left over pieces of Mozzarella, and not leave them to waste. With adding cream the volume was increased more and all of a sudden it was a proper product again. This is also the reason why Burattas will always have a string tied around it; the outside shell is from Mozzarella and the inside is from a softer mixture. If not tied the Burrata will fall apart.

20180313_203134.jpg

A lot of people are not very fond of the texture of Burrata since it is so creamy, and also a lot of people expect Burrata to be Mozzarella and then are disappointed because they expect a more firm structure. I actually love the fact that I can spread out the Burrata after knicking the outer layer.

My first Burrata experience was in a beach club here on Sint Martin, myself also expecting to get Mozzarella. I was pleasantly surprised on what ended up on my plate, but I did not exactly know what I was eating. I ordered it a couple times more throughout the years, and only some months ago I was told this is something totally different. I started looking for Burrata in the local supermarkets but never I was able to find them. Also checking out the French side supermarkets were not for filling in my hunt. I was ecstatic I while back that I found one in a French supermarket, which turned out into a huge disappointed. It was called Burrata, but nothing was found different inside from the outside. It was just a Mozzarella.

This week I found some again! What always is said is that they are best to eat within 24 hours, which is for me impossible to realize. All my food is shipped for weeks. I did taste this a bit but it did not spoil all the fun! It was still good!

20180313_184407.jpg

So how do you eat Burrata?

I prefer eating Burrata in a salad. Because it has a tiny acidy flavor in it, it goes together perfect with the sweetness of balsamic paste (not balsamic vinegar, its more bitter). Together with a salty ham this stuff is the bomb! I didnt want any meat added in my dish today, I try to leave out meat multiple days a week. So I fried some mushrooms with garlic and paper, added some cucumber, and took some lettuce from own garden. The balsamic paste draped a bit over it, et voila! Food!!

Source:
https://www.culy.nl/inspiratie/burrata-een-romig-pareltje-uit-italie/

https://www.finedininglovers.com/blog/food-drinks/burrata-cream-mozzarella/

Sort:  

It was man! Really good stuff and not that unhealthy (except for the burrata hahahaahha)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:37:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.45/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

An excellent salad. We don't have Burrata here. We are lucky to find cheddar and mozzarella. Most of the cheese eaten here is soft farmer's cheese. Burrata would have to be imported and therefore much more costly. Right now there is a problem with customs too. It can take up to six months or longer to get products released. This takes a toll on freshness...

6 months????

Wauw! Oke scrape importing fresh food of the list for you guys. Thats not a lot of options to be honest for you if you are a cheeselover

I have added cheese making to my plans for this year. People have been making cheese for centuries, right? I am willing to try anyway. Most of the things that we like to eat I make or grow. And guess what? They taste better by a long shot.

Hehe thats true for sure! Im really curious how that will work making your own cheese! Its sounds like super cool thing to do! Cowmilk would be your preference? Or goat/sheep milk? I also really like sheep cheese, its super soft!

I will probably try making cheese with both types of milk as we have neighbours with cows and goats. My family are really like mice. They will eat any kind of cheese!

Keep us posted on the progress on this! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83