Cooking... are you into it?

in #food6 years ago

If we are talking in terms of how much you can love food, I really love food! So that is what today is about, the good stuff in life!


Now, let me start off this food theme with a confession. One that is not so good to hear from somebody who loves quality food, but ej...we have to be realistic right!

I totally suck in cooking. There...I said it!



Pixels, chefkeem

If there is any chance possible, I would totally choose doing dishes the whole day over cooking just once.





And maybe it is not even because I am the worst chef on earth, it is because Iack of inspiration and creativity. See I used to live together with this fine human who was a professional chef for a living. And there you see exactly the difference on how that this works if you understand food or not



'What shall we eat today?'

Let's see what we have in the fridge... Ow I see some left over this. If we use that to create this and that it will go perfectly with blablabla. Add some of these herbs and spices, let this marinate a bit and we will be good to go in about half an hour, et voila!!






Or........it can something like this!!



Opens fridge sees all kinds of veggies
Thinks about what what options are making the perfect dish
Thinks about @exyle blog about the egg-pancake with avocado
Gets inspiration but uses a terrible pan and end up with scrambled eggs with veggies

Yeah right, You thought I would make a picture out of that?? Think again! :D



Luckily I am not a big fan of junkfood. Like not at all. Veggies, meat if it is good or fish or not at all, and some good flavor on it are something that can make my day. No deepfried shit, no pizza, no burger king.

This does mean on the other hand that you have to do something for your food. Those months in Holland a couple weeks back were take-away heaven I must admit. For not too much money you would get a very decent meal and healthy meal delivered by a student on a bike. Eco friendly even!

Switzerland doesnt have a take away culture, and even in the city here there is not much going on, on that behalf (bummmmmmmerrrrr). So....cooking it is for Karin.





Luckily there is always my best friend in dark days




Pixabay, huahom

Curry!!


This never gets old! I could eat curry every day if I am honest with myself, and that results that my inspiration often turns into stirfrying veggies, adding some nuts, making sure that I have coconut milk in the house, and boiling soms rice. Now I know, I know...coconut milk isnt THAT good for you. Moderation is key and so forth.

If I am honest..I dont really care ;)

Let me stick to my curry






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

The up-front-honest "I am NOT a kitchen goddess!" is sooooo refreshing. :) Sweet post, lady. I'm happy to cook for you anytime you are in the neighbourhood. :)

I will hold you up to that for some thai specialty! I will make a nice stamppot to compensate :D

IF you want that from somebody without cooking skillz that is :DDDD

YES!!! stamppot!! always. :) or you can bring some great beer. Thai food goes VERY well with beer.

Jamie, Kai and I would move you in and cook for you everyday, just for doing the dishes LMAO!! 😂

Thats a decent deal right????

I really dont mind doing that, but the idea of logisticly multitasking everythng at the same time in pots and pans..hahahaha, noooooo

Done deal! Kai and I are the market mules we'll bring daily fresh produce, J loves to do the cooking part and you just come and enjoy the food! 😍
..and a bit of washing up lol!

@karinxxl everyone in the world loves food.. i also loves food very much. hahaha

I have another easy suggestion for you! I make mushroom risotto a lot and it's super duper easy and tasty!

All you need is one little bouillonblokje (you're Dutch, right???) and some basic ingredients like the rice, mushrooms, onion and I like to throw in something green as well usually. Go google recipe's, it's a 20-30 minute cook at most (including cutting the veggies which you do during the cooking process - this saves a lot of time and hassle!)

hehhe stock in English doesnt cover the value of the word bouillionblokje :D

Actually that is a good one! Also a 1 pan dish and I saw some truffel paste in the supermarket to give it its mushroom edge!! MJAM!

THX!

Me too loves food. To cook & to eat too :)

Haha, it's a great excuse to discover the best local take aways! I don't mind cooking, but if I have to cook for myself, it is a terrible chore that I do pretty badly...

Exactly..cooking for yourself after a long day of working is just super tedious. And the take aways in the cities are so damn good and affordable hahaha.

curry is great!! Chuck it all in, cook some rice, job done. It always used to be my Monday night staple after a big weekend coz I figured all those vegetables would be good for me!!! These days I also eat vegies on the weekend, haha.

Hahahhahaha, yessss it is a dish that makes us feel good and less guilty :D

I am not vegetarian at all, but I find curry one of the dishes that actually better with leaving the meat out!

Yes I agree!!! And same same.

I love curry too!! And I hate cooking XD I always make sure I'm not the one doing it.

That style I like!! Trying to get somebody else to make something nice :D

I love cooking - curry is definitely a family fave, as we don't get much of that out and about in Spain.

I believe yea! In Spain its not that easy to get other international food right?

Here also the international cuisine is not that big for a big city I must say. Luckily curry is easy to make yourself with any stuff you just have lying around there. Nicest stuff ever: adds any kind of nuts in it

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the new @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished authors. Read how much we love and appreciate your work here: https://steemit.com/food/@smg/smg-digest-or-cooking-struggles-student-debts-big-waves-creative-practice-and-the-promo-steem-project

your curry looks great! I love cooking, but I've actually never made curry! Thanks for the inspiration. xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77