School is out Forever!

in #food7 years ago

Hi there! Thanks for stopping by @karenmakescakes.

I know it is Back-to-school fever in this part of the world, but I have a cake for a teacher's retirement party from last year I wanted to share.
I had so much fun with this one! I loved school when I was a kid and to this day, a new pen and notebook brings me so much joy....I know, I need help, right? lol
IMG_20160611_125628954.jpg

This is not my design. I was sent a photo of a cake and this is my version of it.
All the topper items are edible except for the strip of gold ribbon on the pencil eraser. The measuring ruler around the bottom edge of the top tier is my addition to the design. The "chalkboard" is made of modelling chocolate and I used a small paint brush and white food coloring to paint the words. It looks remarkably like real chalk!
The bottom tier is quite plain, but my favorite part in decorating this cake was the little piece of note paper with the congratulatory message to the retiree. It is made of modelling chocolate. The lines were drawn with an edible marker. I wanted to make sure this little "note" stood upright on the side of the cake, so I made it about 2 weeks early and let it dry on a form with the same curve as the cake pan I would be using to bake the cake. It worked out perfectly!

IMG_20160611_125606572.jpg

So I wonder if this retired teacher is missing getting ready for the new school year? I still miss it and my kids have been out of school now for 10 years! I'll just stop at the store and get myself a new pen and notebook and that usually helps. ;)

Sort:  

Woah you are talented,that cake looks delicious and very appealing to the eye.Definitely going to follow your blog.Must've been so hard eating such an artpiece.


Check out my Vegan Pizza Recipe one chef to another,you may also enjoy my posts. Have a great day n bake away!

Thanks for your kind words. I will be sure to check our your blog and thanks for the follow!

I must need help too: I get warm fuzzy feelings from new notebooks.

That is a beautiful cake! The detail work is really lovely. I bet Susan enjoyed it a great deal even if she is missing out on preparations for the new year.

I have always loved new school supplies! Thanks for your comment and kind words.

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project. Join over 100 like-minded quality content creators.

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

Thank you for your comment! I was very pleased with the result of promotion by @ocd. I hope I can take part in your project. Thanks for the opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66