Red Roasted Pepper From Cambodia... Hot and Tasty! 😉

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Cambodia has numerous fascinating spices the most famous of which is probably long pepper. What you see here in this post is not long pepper but rather the kind you are familiar with. What is different about this was the way it had been prepared.

They don't seem to use a lot of chili in their cooking compared to other countries in the region but they definitely love their pepper! Recently I was in the market and saw several kinds of prepared pepper and I had to grab some because it looked so good...

IMG_3053.JPG

Out of the several varieties available I went for a handful of this type because it looked red, had a strong but pleasant smell and seemed to be the spiciest of the lot.

I'm sure you agree with me it does look great!

IMG_3050.JPG

The taste is strong but very satisfying.

IMG_3054.JPG

The woman who sold me this pepper had several other varieties available and I am regretting not having bought them all to sample.

Perhaps I will go back to the market today and grab a handful of a different kind! 😉


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank
& loves @canadian-coconut, @chron, @mammasitta, @samstonehill, @sift666, @v4vapid


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort:  

Those are nothing compared to straight-from-hell red scotch bonnet pepper from Jamaica. One bite of it and your tongue will never be the same again.

Scotch bonnets are my favorite! I grow them and eat them raw!!! Only a little at a time as they are so hot but they are also super tasty!

I eat raw chilis regularly but once they get to Scotch Bonnet heat I have to start being more cautious. Still even one half of one in a big pot of soup changes everything!

These peppercorns I posted about are not hot peppers....

Great comment! Followed and UPvoted!

Funny-Closeup-Horse-Face-Wallpaper.jpg

I have never tried them. Is their flavor comparable to something or is it unique?

This is just normal pepper but fresh and roasted in a way I have never seen. The long pepper I mentioned is a different species and does taste different. Once it is ground it reminds me of a spicy cinnamon if that makes sense! UPvoted!

Long pepper

Long pepper (Piper longum), sometimes called Indian long pepper (pipli), is a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae, cultivated for its fruit, which is usually dried and used as a spice and seasoning. Long pepper has a taste similar to, but hotter than, that of its close relative Piper nigrum - from which black, green and white pepper are obtained.
The fruit of the pepper consists of many minuscule fruits — each about the size of a poppy seed — embedded in the surface of a flower spike that closely resembles a hazel tree catkin. Like Piper nigrum, the fruits contain the alkaloid piperine, which contributes to their pungency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65