My Favorite Afternoon Tea: Art Tea at The Merrion Hotel in Dublin, Ireland

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I'm a huge fan of afternoon tea - pastries, tiny sandwiches, and caffeine? You can't beat it. And my favorite afternoon tea is at the gorgeous Merrion Hotel in Dublin, Ireland.

The starter is unlimited tea from their huge tea selection - it just keeps coming!

26854426_10214358027927229_212734994_o.jpg

When they bring the sandwiches and pastries out, you understand why they hope you're hungry. Breads, scones, cakes, and sandwiches - of course including that famous Irish brown bread.

26908868_10214358027407216_845736038_o.jpg

But it's called Art Tea for a reason, and the final course makes the afternoon famous. Every day, the chef chooses three of the paintings that are showcased around the hotel and emulates them by turning them into an incredible (and delicious!) pastry.

26906092_10214358027247212_244575620_o.jpg

It was so much fun to see these art pieces on my plate and then walk around the hotel and see the inspiration right in front of me!

Has anyone else had an amazing afternoon tea experience? What do I need to see next?!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:25:55
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow! How cool. There is a hotel in London (I can't remember the name right now) that also does an art tea.

I recently had tea for the first time, despite many travels to the UK. It was in April, at the Manor House, a resort hotel where I stayed in the village (pop: 96) of Castle Combe. It was remarkable - not only did we enjoy great tea and food, but it was also "Gin & Tonic Tea" so we were served G&Ts from the hotel's bar while having tea - the hotel bar has one of the largest gin selections in the country.

So check it out sometime - it's in the Cotswolds and so worth the trip!!

Wow - that sounds like such a hidden gem! Thanks for the recommendation, there really is nothing better than a boozy afternoon tea. I need to check it out!

It was amazing - let's just say I was so full and "relax" afterwards...I had to take a nap! :)
https://www.exclusive.co.uk/the-manor-house/restaurants-bars/afternoon-tea/

I'm a big coffee lover but recently I'm starting to like tea. When I saw the first photo it was like the tea was being served to me and the feeling of being detoxified seeps into me.

I'm in the same boat! I am obsessed with coffee, but am really starting to become a tea-lover lately.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jessmal
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-favorite-afternoon-tea-art-tea-at-the-merrion-hotel-in-dublin-ireland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81