Puffy Bavarian Pretzel Nuggets - Quick & Easy Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

zals.JPG

Chef Jeff's Puffy Bavarian Pretzel Nuggets

In this post I will discuss a simple recipe to create puffy Bavarian pretzel nuggets. These bite sized pretzels are a great little appetizer that pairs perfectly with a beer and some cheese dip or mustard sauce. I consider myself to be a pretzel connoisseur, they are one of my favorite foods to get at a bar or an event. This recipe makes it easy for anyone to get their hands on some scrumptious pretzels. I will walk you through the step-by-step process below.
Check out my recipe for a Truffle Pepper Cheddar Cheese Sauce!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Milk
  • 1 1/2 Teaspoons of Active-Dry Yeast
  • 3 Tablespoons of Butter
  • 2 Teaspoons of Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon of Salt
  • 2 1/4 Cups of All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 Egg Yolks
  • 4 Cups of Water
  • 1/4 Cup of Baking Soda
  • Coarse Sea Salt

Step 1: In a Large Bowl, Combine Milk & Sugar

You should combine 1 cup of milk (preferably room temperature) with 2 teaspoons of granulated sugar.

DSC_0046.JPG
DSC_0047.JPG

Step 2: Add the Yeast

Wait a few minutes to let the yeast dissolve in the milk and sugar mixture.

DSC_0048.JPG

Step 3: Stir in the Butter

Use a spoon to mix in the butter. Make sure it is softened a bit before using.

DSC_0049.JPG

Step 4: Add the Flour & Salt

Combine 1 teaspoon of salt with 2 1/4 cups of flour and add it to the mixture.

DSC_0051.JPG

Step 5: Mix it up

Stir the ingredients together until you are left with a dough-like substance.

DSC_0060.JPG

Step 6: Knead & Let it Rise!

On a floured surface fold the dough into the center. It will be a tad sticky but should be fairly workable. After kneading for about 7 minutes, you should cover the dough and let it rise for an hour.

DSC_0071.JPG

Step 7: Divide it up

After letting the dough sit for 1 hour, cut it up into 4 even segments and roll each of them out into ropes roughly 1 1/2 feet long.

DSC_0078.JPG
DSC_0081.JPG

Step 8: Cut Each Rope Into Nuggets

You will get roughly 10 to 12 nuggets for each rope providing you with about 40 to 48 bite-sized pretzels.

DSC_0083.JPG

Step 9: Flash Freeze the Nuggets

Place the nuggets on a floured, wax-paper lined cookie tray and pop them into the freezer for 10 minutes until the pretzel bites are firm. If you do not have enough freezer space, you can put them in the fridge for 45 minutes or until firm.

DSC_0085.JPG

Step 10: Give the Nuggets a Baking Soda Bath

Boil 4 cups of water and add 1/4 cup of baking soda. Bring to a simmer as you dunk each nugget into the water mixture for roughly 30 seconds. At this point you should be pre-heating your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

DSC_0094.JPG

Step 11: Prepare Egg-Wash & Get Painting

Take the yolk of 2 eggs and add a splash of milk. Whisk them together and gently paint the tops of the nuggets before placing them onto a well-greased cookie sheet.

DSC_0091.JPG
DSC_0096.JPG

Step 12: Add the Pretzel Salt & Put Them In The Oven

Sprinkle coarsely ground sea salt onto the pretzels before popping them into the oven. This is optional. Feel free to try other toppings like garlic salt or sesame seeds. Once you place them in the oven, cook them for 13 minutes or until golden brown.

DSC_0076.JPG

Step 13: Get Your Dips Ready

I chose to use a Horseradish Mustard from Stonewall Kitchen along with a homemade Truffle Pepper Cheddar Cheese Sauce.
Check out my recipe for the Truffle Pepper Cheddar Cheese Sauce!

DSC_0105.JPG

DSC_0097.JPG

Step 14: Enjoy!

After roughly 13 minutes in the oven on 400 degrees Fahrenheit, the pretzel nuggets will be golden brown and ready to serve. The aroma of these delightful puffs will smell up the room and you will get very excited to dig in.

DSC_0101.JPG

This was a tasty treat and I definitely plan to make them again. Feel free to give it a try!

Let me know what you think!

Follow me at

alt text


----------> Terps & CBD's! <----------
---------> Save $40 Off Your Next Adventure Using AirBNB! <---------
---------> Buy $100 Of Bitcoin and Get An Additional $10 FREE <--------
--------->Buy Anything on AMAZON using Bitcoin! Save up to 15%<--------
-----------> Enter E-Mail to Access The LBRY - Receive LBRY Credits! <----------

Sort:  

Looks Delicious! I've never made pretzels, but I've made bread many times. Going to definitely make this soon

Thank you for the good quality post!

Well I have to say that they look delish! I have never tried making any type of pretzel before, but you made this look easy. Resteeming so I can keep this one for making at a later date. ;-)

Thanks for resteeming 💙

You are most welcome.

Thanks! I greatly appreciate that. I just started experimenting with pretzel making and it is easier than I ever thought. They come out tasting like a real pretzel that you would get at a ballpark.

Wow, that sounds great. I will be printing this out so I can give them a try for my next gathering.

Awesome! Let me know how you like them :)

Omg thanks for sharing this recipe we have been looking for a pretzel recipe!
Upvoted resteemed

@ch00fy- foodie

Thank you! Let me know what you think if you try it!

Looks great! I've been planning on doing a cheese fondue and these would be so good to dip

Man that sounds like some good snack recipe! I'm gonna ask my wife if she can make it, I will take care of buying some beer ,)

Haha nice! It definitely makes a good pair with a cold beer. Enjoy!

Looks good, I also like pretzels? How long does it take?

Roughly 2 hours. But for 1 of the hours you are just waiting for the dough to rise

Ah ok thought so... do you cook a lot?

I like to think I'm Chef Jeff...

It is now! Haha

IT SURE IS! HAVE A SPECTACULAR DAY MY FELLOW STEEMIAN!!!

These look so good. And I think I have all the ingredients in the house already! Might have to give them a try at some point

Never really had a pretzel before I think! These look so good. might give them a try!

Habla, blah blah blah blah blah, Español for my bunghole...

These look awesome! So looking forward to making them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56