App's Ristorante - West Haven, Connecticut - Restaurant Review

in #food7 years ago (edited)

20180106-IMG_0346.jpg

App's Ristorante - Restaurant Review

283 Captain Thomas Blvd, West Haven, CT
App's Ristorante - Website: http://www.appsrestaurant.com/

Last night my family gathered at App's Ristorante to celebrate my grandmother's 80th birthday. App's is a fancy Italian restaurant in the Savin Rock area of West Haven. It's a well-established, family-owned restaurant that opened it's doors back in 1938. Our family is fairly large, so we had an entire room to ourselves.

20180106-IMG_0342.jpg
(I spy @themomlook, @bryanjagoe & @michaeljagoe)

333333.png

I had the pleasure of sitting next to @robjagoe, @cjagoe and my little niece Madison. @michaeljagoe, @bryanjagoe and my Mom also joined us. That is 5 people at our table with STEEM accounts... not too shabby! I had a glass of Chianti to start the night.

20180106-IMG_0339.jpg

333333.png

The Menu

The menu at App's Ristorante is large and full of Italian classics. I've been here a couple times before, so I've had the chance to try a few different dishes. Everything is authentic. They have some of the best meatballs around and I remember getting really good Lasagna last visit. This time I wanted to try something new.

20180106-IMG_0334.jpg
20180106-IMG_0335.jpg

333333.png

Appetizers at App's

We ordered an array of appetizers for everyone to split. Here's a combination plate consisting of Tomato Olive Bruschetta, Fried Mozzarella and Fried Calamari with hot cherry peppers.

20180106-IMG_0336.jpg

333333.png

Cream of Broccoli Soup

This Cream of Broccoli Soup was perhaps the greatest part of the entire meal. Lately I've been dealing with a bad cold and this hot soup really hit the spot. It was thick with chunks of broccoli florets. Hands down the best broccoli soup I have ever tried in my life. It put Panera Bread's broccoli soup to shame.

20180106-IMG_0341.jpg

333333.png

Chicken App's

I ordered the 'Chicken App's' as my entree. It consisted of medallions of chicken, mushrooms, hot & sweet peppers, sautéed with garlic, white wine, oregano, basil, and served over thinly sliced fried potatoes. It had a lot of flavor but unfortunately the fried potatoes and chicken became a bit soggy after sitting in the puddle of sauce. Overall it was a unique dish with a bunch of tasty components.

20180106-IMG_0344.jpg

333333.png

Tiramisu

For dessert I ordered the Strawberry Cheesecake but the restaurant ran out. Instead they brought me a slice of delicious Tiramisu. I was definitely not upset about it. The Tiramisu was a perfect substitute. It was rich and creamy with hints of coffee and mascarpone.

20180106-IMG_0345.jpg

Happy Birthday Grammy!

Here's a photo of my grandparents with all their grandchildren and great-grandchildren. @themomlook, @bryanjagoe, @robjagoe and @cjagoe are among the crowd. The rest of my cousins will become STEEMians sooner or later, it's only a matter of time...

IMG_0127.JPG

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Happy Birthday to your grandma! You have a big beautiful family!

I will let her know you said so. Thank you very much @alexandraioana26!

You're quite beautiful yourself :)

I am blushing right now :">
Thank you so much! Do you feel better now? :D

Getting there! Thank you :)

Have a great week ahead! Are you up to anything fun?

In RO the local time is 01:50 am and tomorrow I have to go to work, so just chilling on Steemit! Take care of yourself and be well soon.

Thanks! It's about 7:11pm here. Good night and get some sleep!

Thanks! Have a great evening!

So nice 😄 if you want check my channel and see my food posts 🙏💘

Thank you very much! I’ll check them out now

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 18:58:26
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 175.95/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.70 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeffjagoe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=app-s-ristorante-west-haven-connecticut-restaurant-review


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42