A Jeezzle Review: Van Premium Pork Egg Rolls.

in #food7 years ago

Sometimes you want some egg rolls but you don't feel like going very far to get them.

Fortunately your local Walmart carries a wide selection.

I usually go for some of the Frozen egg rolls like the ones from Pagoda.

I think they usually cost about $3 for a 4 pack.

There's an even better deal on egg rolls at Walmart though.

You find them in the refrigerator section up front near the ready made sandwiches and rotisserie chickens.


Source: Walmart.com

They are called Van Premium Pork or Chicken Egg Rolls and they claim to be a woman owned company.

I don't know about you but when I'm looking for egg rolls the first thought that comes into my mind is "This company better be run by women."

Everybody knows women make the best egg rolls.

Seriously though, in my opinion the refrigerated pizzas usually tastes a lot better than the frozen ones.

It makes good sense then that the refrigerated egg rolls should taste a lot better than the frozen ones as well.

So I picked up a five pack of Van Premium Pork Egg Rolls for $2.50.

Let's check them out.

First of all you get 5 egg rolls which is 13.5 oz. for $2.50.

That's a much better deal than any of the frozen ones.

These egg rolls are nice and big too.

They really look like the kind of egg rolls you might see at a Chinese restaurant.

There are three different options for cooking them.

  1. Microwave.
  2. Fry.
  3. Oven.

I rarely microwave anything except for the occasional cup of coffee........ and if I was going to fry some egg rolls I wouldn't be using prepackaged ones.

Therefore, I heated up the oven to 400 degrees.

The directions say to heat them for 10 minutes and then flip them over and heat them for an additional 10 minutes for a total time of 20 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees.

They certainly come out looking nice and golden brown.

If these egg rolls taste anything like how they look then we're in for a nice treat especially at the cheap price.

Biting into the egg rolls I was met with a meat mixture with the occasional carrot and green cabbage leaf in it.

The flavor was pretty good but you couldn't have convinced me that it was pork and not chicken or even some unknown meat that I had never heard of.

The wrapping was crispy and tasty as well however there was nothing about it that said.... Hey this is the best egg roll I've ever had.

I ate four of them for lunch and several hours later I'm still feeling fine so I can tell you that they are perfectly good to eat.

The taste is also pretty good but nothing to write home about.

If I was going to write home I would probably say.

"Dear Mom...... I bought these Van Premium Pork Egg Rolls from Walmart and they are decidedly average. However, they are a good deal for the price and if you need a quick lunch that isn't going to break the bank and you're in the market for some egg rolls you probably can't go wrong with these. Having said that, if you're looking for some prepackaged egg rolls from Walmart I would probably suggest Pagoda over these because the Pagoda egg rolls are delicious even though they are frozen."

"PS Send money."

If you are in the market for some average tasting egg rolls that are quick and cheap you can't go wrong with Van Premium Pork Egg Rolls

They're in the refrigerated section.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

lol I used to buy these all the time, I would get the pork and also the chicken ones. They are pretty cheap for a decent quick snack. As soon as I saw the picture in my feed I was saying Walmart!

You know it. Good to hear from you @grizzman.

OMG, these egg rolls! I love these but it's quite expensive in our country.

You might wanna check my recent post about Watermelon seeds, never thought these seeds has great health benefits. I used to throw them ;) Upvoted and I'm following you now ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38