#WhatsCookingChallenge - Coriander Tikka Chicken Curry with Avocado

in #food6 years ago

20180515_212823.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

I was feeling super lazy the other day,
and when I get like that then whatever I make
generally turns out to be a "one pot" kinda of deal...

Although, simple as it was -
this was a fantastically
tasty dish!

#WhatsCookingChallenge - Coriander Tikka Chicken Curry with Avocado

🍴

I am not normally one to opt for packet sauces,
and even when I do, I will generally add my own spin on it anyway...
And like I said... I was feeling rather lazy, so yeaaah.. haha :)

What you need...

A pack of filleted chicken breasts
A bunch of celery sticks
A handful of roughly chopped coriander (cilantro)
250ml fresh cream
A tikka chicken cook in sauce (or perhaps just curry powder if you prefer)
A chicken stock cube
About a teasoon of freshly chopped garlic
Salt and pepper to taste
One ripe Avocado
Basmati rice

Heat a deep pan or pot on the stove,
with a little bit of olive oil.
While that is heating up,
slice the chicken breasts into strips.

20180515_165615.jpg

Once the pan has heated add the chicken and seal it.
Then chop up the celery, coriander and garlic
and add that to the pan too,
along with the chicken stock cube
and the salt and pepper.

20180515_170213.jpg

20180515_165912.jpg

20180515_170416.jpg

Keep the heat high and cook for about 5 minutes.
Then, lower the heat to medium,
add the sauce and the cream,
pop the lid back on and leave it to
gently simmer for at least an hour
so that the chicken is lovely and tender,
and the flavours have a chance to develop.

20180515_171633.jpg

20180515_171722_006.jpg

20180515_171903.jpg

20180515_171946.jpg

While that is simmering,
you can cook the basmati rice
and chop up a little extra coriander
to serve with...

Sometimes I find that casseroles, curries and saucy dishes
can look a bit "sloppy" when it comes to the plating -
so I generally prefer to separate them on the plate...
that way when you serve it, it looks aesthetically pleasing,
and it is as simple as the recipient
lifting up the bowl and pouring it onto the plate themselves,
but at least it looks good on arrival,
instead of giving a plate of "slop" haha :)

20180515_212838.jpg

20180515_212740.jpg

20180515_213009.jpg

ENJOY!!

🍴

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

This looks yummy! You always amaze me with the different dishes that you include avocado in. In the US it's guacamole or go home! I'll have to give it a try and dazzle my friends and neighbors! hahaha!

hahaha AVO can go in ALL the things as far as I am concerned @rwedegis... much like bacon lol ;) and guacamole has to be my LEAST favourite version... sounds so (no offense) - "typically American" - #instanteverything and I HATE that lol :) ...Hope we are still friends hehe ;)

Hahaha! Of course we're still friends! I didn't mean to imply that I'm a big fan of guac! I usually just do the avo in salads or on sandwiches. I even know that you can use it to make a vegan ice cream!
I've never had it cooked! I don't know of anyone here who does. That's why I'm am so intrigued! I know you must think that that's crazy! But that's what's so cool about this challenge, we get to see what's cooking in different countries and cultures! I know I've probably said that before, but I'm still excited about that!

@rwedegis Agreed... it is quite an eye opener sometimes :)

Hi @jaynie

Great breakdown and what an amazing cook!

I'm a big fan of Indian food especially when its loaded with chili :)

hehe yip! Just don't rub your eyes after lol ;)

Looks like some sound advice :) #somanythingstocook #winterfood

@o07 happy cooking ;P

You should totally do a D-Live cooking video!

@o07 hmmmm.... a little camera shy, but maybe one day :)

Mmm yep ... I would use Quorn but you've got my juices flowing ... that's tomorrow sorted out.

haha!!! Good to know ;)

Hello! I really like Indian spicy curries, but I do not know how to cook this dish. In my city there is no Indian restaurant, so I always look for it when traveling in Europe. I read the recipe. I thought that we needed a good seasoning carcuma, did you cook without it? )

Educate me ;) Never heard of it here...

Curcuma gives curry yellow color and a spicy taste of indium )

aaaah yes! familiar but think it goes by a different name here.... tumeric? and yes - I use it all the time, but not in that dish :)

It's good that we agreed )

This was the first post that I saw after opening my eyes this morning and now I am gonna be thinking about chicken all day lol. This looks really nice, I do something similar but using curry as a spice.

hahaha!!! Wel, either way.... delicious I am certain!! ;)

Holy smackers!

That looks super amazing @jaynie.

I'm going to give it a try.

I need to take up this challenge with my 12 bean chicken tomatilla chili!

Enjoy!

lol thanks :) and THAT I want to see!!!!! :)

Hey @jaynie your food looks great! I just want to know your secret to taking such awesome photos! They really make your food look soooo enticing!!

Thanks hon :) Well... A clean lens is always the start haha!!!! It is the one SIMPLE thing most people forget to do, especially when using a phone. :)

For me it’s funny and new to see the rice outside round about on an extra plate. Cool presentation, makes the meal much more interesting 👍

Mmnnnnn Looks delish. I'm gonna try recreating, but with out the chicken as I'm a veggi. Ha ha, I made curry 2 days ago, so it looks like it's a two curry week ;-)

Nothing wrong with that!!! No such thing as too much curry :)

Wow this dish looks divine ... This one to eat everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89