WHAT'S COOKING GOOD LOOKING - KASSLER CHOPS

in #food7 years ago

I cook a LOT of things and I do it every single night,
but amusingly enough...
something I have NEVER made is Kassler chops!

20171113_171720.jpg

For those unaware... and compliments of Wikipedia...

What is a Kassler Chop?

Kassler or Kasseler in German cuisine
is the name given to a salted (cured) and slightly smoked cut of pork.
It can be either hot or cold smoked.
Pork necks and loins are the most often used cuts although ribs,
shoulders and bellies can also be used.

Right, so now that we have that out of the way...

Let's cook some chops shall we ;)

.........

I know many people fry them -
but to be honest I don't really fry anything anymore,
other than the occasional egg...

So I roast/bake everything!

The method for this was surprisingly simple!!!

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celcius (356 Fahrenheit)
and while that is busy getting itself ready...

Drizzle a little olive oil on a plate
and season VERY lightly with salt and pepper...
Kassler chops are cured in brine
so they are technically already seasoned...

20171113_171957.jpg

Rub only one side of the chop
into the olive oil, salt and pepper mix

20171113_172153.jpg

The recipe said a sweet chilli chutney,
but I mixed a sweet chilli sauce
and a traditional peach chutney...
because I can ;)

20171113_172315.jpg

Coat the un-seasoned, upward facing side of the chops
with your sweet chilli combo....
and place them in an oven tray/dish.
I generally line the dish with foil,
as this saves a lot of elbow grease later ;)

20171113_172612.jpg

cook them for 35 minutes
until the sauce begins to bubble
and is just beginning to brown

I am no chef...
I am simply a mom that loves to cook...
but DAMN these look good! lol

20171113_181945.jpg

VOILA!
Enjoy hehe ;)

Tonight I will be serving these chops with fine green beans, gem squash and avocado pear.

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Header Image Credit

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

ENTHUSIASTIC about BLOGGING?

Got AWESOME content?

well, what are you waiting for?!

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

SB Banner NEW.png

Sort:  

I have never made these either and you won't believe it but this was exactly what we had for dinner tonight. I just made mashed potatoes with...

wahahahaha!!! what were the chances!! - and yes... mashed potato is what it SHOULD be served with.... only I stopped eating my all time love a few years back... sigh.... lol :)

They look delicious!!!

Bon appetit

no... they weren't.... they were SUPER DELICIOUS!!! hehehe :D

"but DAMN these look good!" - INDEED

OMG OMG OMG !!!
arre you serious?
its look so delicious
thank you my dear friend :)))

oh and it was!!! ;) lol

Wow! It's amazing. Looks Yummy! Great pictures! Thanks for the recipe. Your posts are always fun to read.

This post has received a 1.48 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jaynie.

Now I'm a vegetarian :)

oooooh dear.... ;)

hvala na podrsci :)

my pleasure :)

You're really a fantastic person, you have beautiful energy and you know how to have fun @jaynie

I am certain my middle name is fun.....???!!!..... oh no, its lea... pfffft... same thing! lol ;) Thanks hon :) you know what they say... it takes two to tango ;) You make it a party :D

The tango needs a lot of energy, not everyone is able to dance with you :)

aaah but the tango it completely worth it :)

This post has received a 1.22 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @jaynie. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I'm not sure if we can get these in the US, but now, after this post, I am going to find out. They look so good, mmmm. I will have to eat them 'digitally' for now. ;)

That looks easy to bake up, yummy to eat and most definitely one I am going to try @jaynie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57