Farmers' Market Bounty - easy vegetarian dinner

in #food7 years ago

I went to a new farmers' market in town this morning. I went initially just to support a farmer friend and watch her table so she could have a break but ended up spending all my cash on some excellent veg. I usually grow most of this stuff myself, but my garden is way behind this year and it was nice to support other farmers.

Between all the growers I got spinach, beet greens, cylindra beets, carrots, broccoli, romanesco zucchini, new potatoes and strawberries. Also grabbed a bar of locally roasted cacao.

When I have a bunch of fresh local food like this I like to make a super simple pile of steamed veg. Just some salt, pepper and butter and I let all the flavours speak for themselves. This time I also sauteed a little tofu and braised the beet greens with some garlic and lemon. Easy, tasty, local. The best.

photo(4).JPG

Sort:  

It is so hard to not buy these wonderful treats, when you go to a farmer's market. Thanks for sharing. Now following. Like minded People who enjoy the little things in life.

It's true... thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72