Making a BLTE Sandwich

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180228_123738.jpg

Yesterday while picking up a few groceries, I decided I wanted a BLT. So I bought a package of bacon, some tomatoes, and a head of lettuce.

Today, I fried the bacon, sliced a tomato, tore apart some leaves of lettuce, and started stacking stuff on a couple slices of toast. I also decided when I was getting my ingredients out of the refrigerator that I should also fry an egg and toss it in for a bigger and better dose of nutrition. And that is how I came up with a BLTE.

Some thoughts on the components of this culinary non-masterpiece:

  • The green leaf lettuce and Roma tomatoes are basic grocery store produce, so there's nothing special here.
  • The eggs are from a neighbor's chickens, so they were good.
  • Hill's applewood smoked bacon is OK, at least as far as grocery store meat goes.
  • Dave's Killer Bread is one of the few healthy breads that actually tastes good, so if you buy bread instead of making your own, I recommend trying it. There are plenty of varieties from which to choose.
  • Smart Balance is not my favorite butter alternative. I recommend Earth Balance instead. The color, consistency, and flavor are all more to my liking. Your mileage may vary, though.

I didn't worry much about aesthetics today, because I didn't plan to let it sit around for long. I'll worry even less about that tomorrow. It tasted good, and that's what matters. I'll probably make a couple more tomorrow.

Sandwich photography captured by my non-bacon-grease-splattered cell phone, because I had the foresight to set it on the other side of the kitchen!

Sort:  

Check out @jaybird's contests. This is a worthy sandwich in my eyes.

Even if you say nothing special, but the results are very appealing to make.
are you a chef?

Hardly. I am competent in the home kitchen, but that's it.

Means you are professional in processing cooking.
what's the difference is called a chef? ha ha

I am very much an amateur, not a professional.

I’m a big fan of breakfast sandwiches. Love that u added the “E”

Cannot go wrong with eggs on breakfast sands. Nice bacon choice to !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50