Learn From My Story - Don't Ever Eat "Para" Without Reading This Post!!!

in #food5 years ago

So yesterday I was feeling adventurous on trying new things, I guess I woke up with an adrenaline rush. Lolz

Guess what I found?

IMG_20181109_222325.jpg
Yes you got it right, Grasshoppers!!!
I grew up in the northern part of Nigeria, Abuja to be precise; Eating insects and rodents are like eating pizzas and burger.

FYI "Para" is the Hausa word for grasshopper.

I have seen, and almost tasted so many cooked insects but never for once passed the test.
I'm well know to be a curios fellow but I guess I wasn't curious enough to actually eat them. ( at least not until yesterday)

Seeing the grasshoppers displayed on a tray arouse my "Jack Bauer" spirit.
I immediately echoed within me; "yes, I can do this!!!." lolzzz

So ordered them serve me but the smallest quantity servable.
I didn't eat it there because I was a little nervous of throwing up in public.
I beckoned on them to package it for me so I can take it home.

IMG_20181109_222149.jpg
On getting home, I transferred the "Paras" into a plate and got ready to take the bold step.
I quickly drew close to me a bottle of wine to suppress any funny feeling in my stomach.

After minutes of arguing with myself whether or not to eat it, I crunched down on one.
It wasn't as bad as I expected it, it actually tasted like fried crayfish.

Ooooh and I didn't puke lol.
I thought I would but yipi I didn't puke.
IMG_20181109_222616.jpg

My Advice on Eating it?

Only try it if you have a daring spirit.
Remember closing your eyes when eating for the first time.. Lolzzz

That's all for now guys.

Sort:  

Ma guy is this for real? I can see grasshopper here o.

Hahahaha, they are real grasshoppers ooo lolzzz

Care for a bite?

Lol...not at all bro. I need chicken.

I grew up eating those. They would come only during a particular season. I LOVE fried grasshopper and have had no luck finding them here. I tried ordering on eBay and they were too dry and over spiced. Can you send me some?

Ooo wow that makes two of us...

I thought I was the only one.
I don't know if you would like the way they prepared it over here too.

But if you really need to get them and other Africa stuffs, I can do that for you.

Love to have you over whatsapp, telegram or discord.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47