You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍗 Homemade Southern Fried Chicken 🍗

in #food7 years ago

Hmmm, what shall I add as accoutrements to this culinary delight? Well, let's start with macaroni and cheese, cornbread, potato salad, candied yams, and last but not least, well seasoned black eye peas. That's how we roll in the Deep South. ;) Thanks for your nice post and of course the recipe.

Sort:  

This was definitely written by a true Southerner! Though I would Veganize these recipes, you're definitely right on point in your description of a Southern Fried Chicken Plate. Sounds like a traditional "meat and three" to me!

For those folks who wish to take things up a level, just slide in a nice portion of collard or turnip greens. Oh, and the suggested beverage is sweetened ice tea.

ooh the tea sounds GREAT!!

hahaha! omgosh, I would die if I ate the chicken with anything else other than salad or slaw. Something I can never understand is how Americans have mac n cheese as a side! It's a main dish here (South Africa)... and I totally understand what @jaalig is saying - we have similar foods when we have our traditional braais (barbeques) but it's normally a meat and a few salads, like coleslaw, potato salad and a bread... So, I suppose it is very similar!

omgggosssh! That sounds very heavy! The best I can do is a salad. But thank you for your genuine and kind comment - 100% upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59486.49
ETH 2588.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47