Indonesian Snack: Tempeh Chips

in #food7 years ago

image

This is one of my favorite snack. Never fails to make me drooling when i see one.

It is thinly sliced tempeh covered in crispy rice flour batter then deep fried. Everyone have their own version but my favorite is the one with thinly sliced lime leaves and coriander powder mixed in the batter.
Can you imagine how crunchy it is?

Tempeh is fermented soybeans cake. A traditional Indonesian food. It tastes bland but if you cook it right, it tastes heavenly. A lot of vegetarian use tempeh as substitute for meat.
It is nutritious because of the fermentation.

Sort:  

am not a fan of tempeh I don't like its taste
I've been to many Indonesian festival and they always have tempeh but I just can't appreciate the taste but I wonder what the tastes of the chips is like
anyway ..

It is not for everyone I think :)
Maybe it is comparable to Vegemite or durian :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52