# Thoughts on healthy eating

in #food7 years ago

What is healthy eating?

I feel like I can't keep up these days with everything constantly changing. Do you ever have those thoughts? One article says apple cider vinegar is amazing and we should use on salads or if you're interested in detoxing. Now I'm hearing the exercise/nutrition experts say we should forget the acidic apple cider vinegar and focus on juicing. Then the gluten-free paranoia pretty much took over the world! Is there anything "safe" in the grocery stores these days? Dare I say my small obsession with healthy eating started early? Maybe that's a strong word, but I know that I paid attention to how things made me feel so I listened to my body.

I was nine years old when I chose to become a vegetarian. Yes, while we were on a family vacation my brother demanded we stop at a fast food place so he could indulge in a child's food paradise. My mother looked back and asked if I wanted anything and I just shrugged my shoulders. My nonchalance led her to order an identical meal. I did (still do) like french fries, and I ate them first. Then I grabbed the burger and pretty much began picking away at it, taking small bites. I knew within a few short minutes that would be the last time I ate beef. The experience was an eye-opener for me because I knew that I was starting to listen to my body. It was telling me that eating meat wasn't in the cards for me. Of course, the elaborate spreads during the holidays looked appealing and smelled delicious but I just knew I didn't have a desire to try anything (besides the vegetables).

Fast forward to today.

I found the answer that makes sense to me. Healthy eating is keeping a balance in what is consumed. That is my overall broad view. I used to be such a critic and really hard on myself if I ate those french fries I spoke about earlier or a piece of ciabatta bread. I do eat a plant-based diet and have for over twenty years. This works for me. I found that living a vegan lifestyle staves off all types of creepy things, like the common cold or this year's flu. Both of which lurk in our environment which waits to attach to someone's low immune system.

This topic is so interesting to me and I'll be reading and sharing, hoping to learn and get new recipes!

IMG_0939.JPG

Me walking to my happy place

IMG_0940.JPG

My happy place

IMG_0938.JPG

Rewind to when I made food for friends and family. I snapped the pics

.
IMG_0949.PNG

IMG_0947.PNG

Sort:  

We watched a documentary on Netflix, “What the Health” on July 5th, 2017. That was the last day our family has had any meat. Now, we eat seafood but only wild caught. We had been eating organic for the last 3 years but still felt we could do better and utting out meat was the answer. We feel better, don’t get sick as often as we used to, our cholesterol numbers are dropping and I’ve lost 10 pounds. 🍷to that!

858E4AD9-0DF5-4904-9E1B-3F27E8EB5D20.gif

Where the hell did you find that gif lol

I’m the gif queen! 👸

All hail the queen!!

It makes me smile knowing that Whole Foods is one of your happy places. I thought I was the only one who got excited about produce and just felt calm in health food stores - maybe it's a vegan/plant based thing haha. French fries are always a comfort food for me too. I'm excited to see more posts from you, your page looks so inviting!

That's awesome! Haha yes, I am happy to meet other Whole Foods happy place people! I agree that there is a calm when going into health food stores. You're right, it must be a plant-based/vegan thing. I look forward to seeing your posts. Happy sharing!

The best thing you could do is listen to your body. We are all different and there is not a single diet plan that works for everybody. I know people who could eat anything (from healthy to junk) and never put on fat and never get sick, and on the other side I know those who have to be careful. Some can have grain and get the most from them and some get sick from grains, the same goes for meat and vegetables. Our bodies are different and we should respect that. The worst thing a person can do is pick a modern "best advice" and stick to it because those constantly change as you noticed yourself. You`re doing a great job listening to your organism, keep up the good work.

thank you for the post.
We can get involved to organic farming too. There are so much to learn and share in order to improve our health condition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66392.28
ETH 3318.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69