47th Birthday time for me - cake and lactose free ice cream - didn't even know Breyer's starting making this - been using Lactaid pills or Lactaid Ice Cream

in #food6 years ago

Apparently, as I searched around the web about this, Ben & Jerry's has at least one lactose free flavor too. I never knew. Once I hit the age of around age 30, my nutrition system changed. I stopped getting hangovers altogether. I used to be able to drink 3 glasses of milk with cookies, or have a milkshake or a sundae with no issue. I seem to have a sensitivty to too much tomato sauce. Even seafood I used to love like salmon is catching up with me. I am guessing it is just about any oily fish actually.

Now, if I do any of the above, let's just say I will be on the throne for quite some time for the next many hours after I eat the excessive offender, especially lactose. I can get away with milk in cereal or coffee creamer, butter, limited cheeses, but ice cream is so concentrated that it hits me hard. I used to be able to eat a pint of Ben & Jerry's alone with no issues. Those were the days..... :)

icr cream cake.jpg

Now instead of buying Lactaid Brand Ice Cream, which really isn't that bad actually, but the price isn't great. I can get a brand very well known here in the Philadelphia area.
lactose free breyers.png
It apparently came out 11 months ago, but I missed it since I am just used to not being able to eat ice cream any more without some trouble. It was delicious. I topped with some caramel topping and it was soft and melted slowly but nicely and creamy. It wasn't watery and had a great vanilla flavor. I could've really went to town on it. It also comes in the 1.5QT size (used to be the half gallon) for $3, while Lactaid Brand is 1QT and is $4. Needless to say, I was rather pleased to have cake with ice cream for once. I don't really carry the Lactaid pills around with me. I just avoid dairy. I was so pleasantly surprised that I wouldn't need them once they showed me the packaging.

Sort:  

Yes, thanks very much. It was a good find in the grocery store, albeit by accident, and a good birthday. It is a nice surprise to eat something you don't normally get to eat.

Saw Breyer's in Walmart while living in the US but never imagined that the reduced calorie ones etc were any good. Hopefully I still have a few years left to eat dairy but it's good to know that there are some great alternatives!

Happy Birthday !

Enjoy your ice-cream.

Hey, thanks and yes I certainly did. It went fast.

1529783681064.png
Thank you for supporting The Fauceteer Human Bot!

You got a 55.54% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @inspire1!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48