SIMPLE WAYS I USE HERBS FOR EXTRA FLAVOUR

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, here are some very straightforward ways I have recently been using herbs and vegetables grown in my garden to make my diet more enjoyable. I just love to grow herbs and vegetables from seed, harvesting and watching them grow overtime is very rewarding indeed. Even if you live in an apartment, herbs can be gown if you have a window or balcony with sunlight. The most important part of growing herbs and vegetables is to be sure to water them every day in the late afternoon or early morning, never middle of the day. I also used good soil and seaweed for fertiliser.

20180217_152358.jpg

20180213_214322.jpg

SALMON/PRAWNS WITH THYME AND LEMON.

Firstly, thyme has been used from my garden to create a lovely marinade for my salmon and prawns. I do buy some other ingredients such as lemons, as a lemon tree is not practical in my small garden.

20180217_135538.jpg

  • Simply combine thyme, lemon juice, lemon zest and chilli oil (oil of choice) and some salt. Cover the prawns and salmon with the mixture.

20180217_135853.jpg

  • Cover with plastic and leave in the fridge for a good hour.

20180217_140106.jpg

  • Then preheat a pan on medium heat and grill both sides of the salmon for approximately 5 minutes each side. The prawns will need to be added to the pan once the salmon is half done. Prawns will cook faster.

20180217_151110.jpg

  • Once cooked plate up with your favourite salad or vegtables.

20180217_152317.jpg

I must admit the prawns were to die for. The salmon was amazing too, although personally you cannot beat marinated grilled prawns

TIP
Look out for the prawn heads, they can poke and cut the inside of the finger nail. I accomplished this and was very uncomfortable.

ROASTED BEETROOT

This is very simple and I even added some tomatoes, just need to remove them from the oven early as they cook a lot quicker.

20180213_215518.jpg

  • Peel the beetroot and wash

20180213_220251.jpg

  • Place in a baking dish and drizzle oil.

20180213_221643.jpg

  • Then lay your freshly picked herbs. I have used thyme, basil and sage.

  • Season with salt and pepper.

  • Bake for about 30-40 mins.

GRILLED PEPPER STEAK WITH BASIL AND SAGE

This is another very simple dish where you can just add some herbs to suit your choice of meat.

  • Wash and dry herbs. Tear them up if you want, this can help release extra flavor, then mix add to oil(I used chilli oil).

  • Crack plenty of pepper on both sides and mix marinade onto the meat.

  • Cover with plastic and rest in fridge for 15-30 mins

  • Preheat pan on medium heat and grill both sides.

  • serve with your favorite salad or vegetables.

Thanks for reading and hope this can assist others create some very simple dishes that taste great. Adding herbs not only enhances flavor, but herbs have excellent health benefits too. Growing herbs in the garden is highly recommended as it is inexpensive and fulfilling. I will be looking to share some new more advanced dishes in the future

DQmbArZVqKbHWLzP5UgkxMiugfuv9vqesHDzs5EJ32MzHyr_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Nice photos and ideas! I often use products of my vegetable garden to enrich my dishes and thyme is perfect for fishes.

Please come and visit my foodblog, too!

Yes it does work well with fish. I will check it out :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 06:08:34
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 24.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64