Ipon Salad, has anyone tried them?

in #food6 years ago

In the Northern Philippines, they are called *IPON* and only come in season, only twice a year. So when they start coming, neighbours shout it out to every house they pass through. Share the news as loud as they can! Share the love.

It's quite funny as everyone will be comparing on which vendor sells the cheapest, the tiniest and the lightest in color. Anyone whose late in rushing to that vendor, it's one of the saddest happenings in his or her life. These things, everyone must be up to date. Why people think they will be left behind in buying when rows and rows of vendors can be found not only in the wet market, but also in busy roads. 

It's that accessible. Even in the evening. 

A kilo can cost $4-6.

I like watching how the vendors entice their customers to buy from them. Sometimes, a vendor can be surrounded by a lot of customers and others don't have any. Looking at what they're selling, they look the same to me. 

My family prefers if it's not me buying, I admit I don't know sometimes which ones are the best. Well, I leave it to the experts. I got told off many times before😁😁

It might just be called with another name anywhere in the Philippines. As far as I know, they can only grow bigger by another centimeter. 

A friend of mine in Cebu down South calles it *BOLINAO*, but the size i saw online are way bigger than these. This am not sure. 

Perhaps, anyone can enlighten us? These are tropical so perhaps they can also be found in the other parts of Asia?

These are what they look like on first arrival, when uncaught, they get a bit bigger and darker. Buyers get picky at this time and most don't buy anymore.

Aren't they blue-eyed?

How they are cooked depends on what one feels like. They can be made as plain salad or soup or an omelette. My mom prefers to prepare them like a salad, full of ginger and vinegar, then wrapped with banana leaves. This preparation will warrants steaming, where the smell from the banana leaves can fill the room with its' fragrance.

It can get weird if one is not used to it. It's a delicacy in our part of the world.

Dare anyone to try.


All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Uy masarap yan pag prito, yung parang pang-burger. Haha. 😁 It's called dulong here sa Manila.

Hinalo ko yan s ginawa kong Kimchi dati.

Omelette namin cooked..ive heard of dulong, didn't know it's called that. Ginagawa syang bagoong too.

Dito s Manila ko lang nalaman din un tawag dito ang alam ko rin ipon. 😂

I think d ko p ntikman ung bagoong. Ung mga hipon n maliit as bagoong lng alam ko.

Meron na gawang bagoong from ilocos nyan..i know coz its from sa kapitbahay lolz

Oh i see. Ok. 👍

bet ko din yan pag prito ;)

Sarap kasi malutong. 😁

Imma, that is so funny! It's basically FOMO!

I'd love to try that one day:D You're really making me miss the Phils! I've never actually been to Northern Phils, I guess that means I'll have to come visit ;)

Seriously, why are we not sleeping yet?
Look at the other comment, you can come way up north or just a bit north😂🤣 Cebu or Tacloban have some. The omelette you have to try, but the salad or kinilaw is a MUST!

Hahah It's still not my bed time :P

Yes! I want to try it all!!

They come around only wice in a year...during summer and december. It's so rare that people keep them in the freezer.
My mom preferred to keep them already cooked in the freezer. Un nabalot ng dahon ng saging.

Nice ate.. You'll be enjoying it again soon :)

Ever heard of a silver fish??

yes but probably not what you're referring to :)

It's different than those tiny ones??? That's what they're called in the US apparently.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you are cool.

Oh thank you! I try😂

Patikim naman nyan Tita.
Di pa ko nakaktikim nyan.

Itaon nyo ang uwe, makakatikim ka. Sometimes, we have them only in 1 day...that it's so rare.

Tuwing kelan may ganyan Tita?

This was december...i think summer meron din. Ask Yves.

It seems like a delicious dish. Quite disappointed that we don't have it in my place but would very well love to try it out one day!

Where is your place? Sometimes, they can only be found in a day or 2 and then they're gone☺

Well, I live in India and I haven't seen any place where the item is available!

Apparently they're called silver fish!

awesome. so rich and yummy Ipon Salad. will definitly visit you so i can have a taste and some take away...tks for sharing

Your welcome..so long as it's fresh, you can't do wrong in whatever way it's cooked.

Noted with thanks. Let's keep in touch 😎

Yes please.

I can't eat it if it is kilawin.. But sinigang is good..have you tried it?

Every way it's cooked haha..you're missing out with Kilawen. Yummy!

After reading the post, I ended up with the question, not related to the "ipon/bolinao salad", but "Are you in the Philippines currently?" My town is a quite known for "bolinao".

I love KINILAW! hmmmmm. Hahaha

Where is your town? Not currently no.
Kinilaw for the win!

I am from Bantayan Island, where Holy Week celebration is well-known. Which to be honest, I'm sad for that. It is misinterpreted by some it's our fiesta.

And where are you in the Phils @immarojas?

My housemates know Bantayan...don daw buy mountain-size dried bolinao☺

Oo tama @immarojas. Hehe! Pero di nmn masyado. A little mountain, maybe? Hahaha.

Abundance shows..why so many fish in your area??

That exactly Im not pretty sure. Maybe, pretty lang Ako but not sure. :-) joke!

I observe, maybe because a lot of nearby corals.

Kuya..can i make a request? Are u on discord? Lola.Imma #3544

We are from up north☺

awesome. so rich and yummy Ipon Salad. will definitly visit you so i can have a taste and some take away...tks for sharing

in Hiligaynon it is called kinilaw..

In ilocano too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71