Why I've gone vegan - the (non-extreme) reasons

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You may think that being vegan is slightly extreme. Just like most of my friends. When I tell them I’ve gone vegan, they are really surprised. “I get being vegetarian, that’s normal. But vegan? Wow, that’s kinda extreme, isn’t it?”
Well, guess what. The stereotype of the extreme vegan has pervaded society and made it difficult for people to realize how amazingly EASY composing a vegan diet is. It’s even possible for me, a student of a rather demanding faculty who also works part-time, loves running, writing, studying Swedish, reading and also wants to socialize once in a while. And guess what, making a nutritious vegan breakfast takes me 5 minutes, dinner – 20 minutes… (and it does not cost millions, trust me, I’m not that rich yet).
So, why is this stereotype so widespread? Well, the Netflix documentary “What the Health” made me come up with a plausible explanation. Since the meat and dairy industries are powerful enough to influence such organizations as The American Cancer Society, they’re definitely able to influence our thinking. The average person can’t imagine their life without meat and/or dairy because it’s been instilled into them that they’re necessary for their diet… By grandparents, parents, the media. I mean, just look up some data on how much money the meat and dairy industries make.
So, now that we’re over the stigma of extremism, let’s begin with my reasons…

  1. Health reasons.
    I’ve been vegetarian for a while, but my diet was based on dairy. I thought I needed it for protein as I was terrified of carbs – I had lost about 12 kg on a dairy-based diet, eating hardly to no bread. A few weeks ago, I started waking up feeling extremely weird. I developed asthma – I was basically suffocating in the morning and waking up in the middle of the night. I was coughing, wheezing, feeling nauseous. I figured: Okay, I haven’t been dressing right for the weather. And I’m gonna kick all those bad habits. I’ll get over this cold. I have to work, no excuses.
    So I went for my Sunday shift and drank a liter of hot milk in total. I mean, it’s so good for you, right?
    I almost died. One more liter and I could be writing this from my grave. I almost suffocated from the allergy symptoms I was experiencing… And a week later, I developed a lack of appetite.
    I had been consuming so much protein, it was crazy. And my future-doctor friend got slightly angry when I said I was afraid of gaining weight because of carbohydrates. And “What the Health” confirms it – carbohydrates are not bad for you! Moreover, there is no person who eats enough calories who doesn’t consume enough protein! What the health?! Has my gym trainer lied to me all this time to sell me those delicious (and expensive) protein bars?!
    Some time into a plant-based diet, I wake up with none of the allergy symptoms I used to have. I don’t cough or suffocate in the morning. And my conscience is clear, as the dairy industry is even worse than the meat industry.
    A vegan, plant-based diet has been shown to reverse heart disease, diabetes and, most importantly for me, prevent and combat depression. It also provides all the nutrients you need – just remember to buy a (very cheap) B12 supplement. Here’s the one I take:

The studies are cited in my main source for this article – “What the Health” and “Live and let Live” on Netflix. Onto the next paragraph.

  1. Ethical reasons.

Another stereotype instilled into us is that animals are somehow worse than us, humans.
We call mean girls b*tches or cows. Pigs are associated with dirt and lack of culture. Oh, and chickens are stupid; “chicken” also means coward. Another case of language reflecting reality. You like sex? Wow, you’re such an animal! Be a dignified human, okay? Doesn’t matter that dolphins and humans are the only ANIMALS (yes, we’re also animals) who sleep with each other for pleasure. Serial killers are monsters, they act like animals, right? Well, what animal you know is a serial killer?
We try to justify our cruel behavior towards other sentient beings by convincing ourselves that we are somehow superior to them. In “Live and Let Live”, it is said that animals feel stressed and know what is happening to them. They are used by us. Exploited, based on their productivity.
I remember a stage in my life when people used me because of my naivety and helplessness. It felt terrible. Being a tool for somebody else’s needs always equals abuse. No matter if it is for free language help, parents’ money, study help, sex – or meat, milk and eggs.
I never want to exploit any person. A person to me is any sentient capable of realizing what is going on around them. Sometimes you can’t help but hurt a person, no matter what you do. But you can avoid inflicting pain as much as you can. And to me, that’s veganism. That’s eating plants, not buying leather and wool or products tested on animals. Plants indeed do not feel pain and are not self-conscious. That doesn’t mean we should go around cutting trees, but you get the gist.
If my article has made you interested in veganism, check this out:

If you wish to know more about going vegan:

https://www.vegansociety.com/go-vegan

For Polish readers – support Otwarte Klatki:
http://www.otwarteklatki.pl

Sort:  

I follow you please follow me back !

Congratulations @illegalsalads! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72